Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Lights, camera, middle school!
 Author: Holm, Jennifer L.

 Added Entry - Personal Name: Holm, Matthew

 Publisher:  Random House
 Pub Year: 2017

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 197 p., ill., 21 cm

 BTSB No: 459960 ISBN: 9780399554384
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Motion pictures -- Production and direction -- Fiction
 Middle schools -- Fiction
 School stories
 Mice -- Fiction
 Animals -- Fiction
 Humorous fiction

Price: $17.71

Summary:
#1--Babymouse joins the school Film Club and writes the greatest cinematic masterpiece of all time! But when the movie gets shown to the entire school, will it be a box office hit or a flop?

Series:
Babymouse. Tales From The Locker, 1


Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 3.30
   Points: 2.0   Quiz: 189672

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (05/01/17)
   School Library Journal (06/01/17)
   Booklist (06/01/17)
 The Hornbook (00/09/17)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 06/01/2017 Gr 3–5—The Holms, the brother/sister team behind the graphic novel series "Squish" and "Babymouse," continue Babymouse's adventures, taking her into middle school. Much like Lincoln Peirce's "Big Nate" crossover chapter books, this new series will appeal to readers looking for slightly more challenging fare. Though this title contains more text than the original "Babymouse" books, there are numerous illustrations throughout, the font is large, and the difficulty of the language is comparable to that of previous books, making it ideal for fans crossing over into longer chapter book territory. Babymouse is just as energetic as ever, but now she's dealing with middle school drama and algebra. She doesn't want to fit in anymore—she wants to stand out! Babymouse finds the perfect opportunity in film club, where she is chosen to write and direct a movie inspired by her favorite epic dramas. She realizes that it's not as easy as she thought, with a diva leading actress and no budget. Ultimately, Babymouse learns that working as a team is more important than being a star. VERDICT A first purchase where the graphic novel series is popular. For fans of "Dork Diaries" and "Diary of a Wimpy Kid."—Jessica Ko, Los Angeles Public Library - Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 06/01/2017 As she starts her middle-school career (and a brand new series), Babymouse has a yen to stand out. So she signs up for Film Club, and finds herself cast as director, writer, and impresario for an epic feature she grandly titles Au Revoir, My Locker. A steep learning curve ensues, as she not only gets a quick education in the ins and outs of scripting, casting, setting up scenes, and final editing, but she’s also schooled in coping with demanding actors and, when her entire crew quits because she’s so bossy, putting ego aside to mend fences. Interspersed with plenty of spot drawings and sequential panels in which older versions of Babymouse and her familiar supporting cast of friends and rivals mingle with new characters of diverse animal species, her hybrid narrative sweeps along to a grand premiere before the entire student body—which, to her disgust, erupts not in wild applause but hysterical laughter. You can practically hear legions of delighted fans chorus along as she delivers her signature response: “Typical!” - Copyright 2017 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...