Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Memory thief (Thirteen witches)
 Author: Anderson, Jodi Lynn

 Publisher:  Aladdin (2021)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 328 p.,  21 cm

 BTSB No: 058949 ISBN: 9781481480215
 Ages: 9-13 Grades: 4-8

 Subjects:
 Witches -- Fiction
 Magic -- Fiction
 Mother-daughter relationship -- Fiction
 Memory -- Fiction
 Good and evil -- Fiction

Price: $21.46

Summary:
When sixth-grader Rosie begins to see magic, she learns that her mother's dwindling memory is tied to an age-old battle between the light of the moon and the darkness of witches.

Download a Teacher's Guide


Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (01/15/21)
   School Library Journal (12/01/20)
   Booklist (+) (01/01/21)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/02/21)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 12/01/2020 Gr 4–8—Growing up with an indifferent mother, Rosie quickly learns to take care of herself and find the love she seeks in her own stories, which she shares with her best friend. When she decides that she is too old for storytelling, she unknowingly opens up her inherited power of "sight." Rosie comes from a long line of witch hunters who have the ability to see deeper into the world around them. She learns of witches, ghosts, a moon goddess, and how dangerous her life may become. Coming face-to-face with one of the 13 original witches, Rosie has to learn her place and powers in this new world. Anderson weaves a beautiful tale of beauty and darkness. This larger world is described eloquently in its magical details and terrifying dangers. Readers will come to understand the importance of love, friendship and imagination, while being warned against those who feed off of these good parts of the world. This first book in a new series ends on an intriguing note for future titles. VERDICT For fans of Cornelia Funke's "Inkheart" and Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon, fantasy fans will have much to enjoy with this one.—Julie Jesernik, Warrenville P.L., IL - Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 01/01/2021 *Starred Review* It’s always been up to Rosie to make sure things get done around the house, because her mom simply can’t. Existing in fog of forgetfulness, her mother spends her days in the attic office doing data entry and staring out at the sea. Otherwise, the sixth grader is going through typical tween growing pains, chief among them the worry that her best friend, Germ, is outgrowing their friendship. This fear prompts Rosie to destroy her notebooks of “childish” stories, unintentionally activating an ability to see magic in the world around her. Ebb, a ghost who lives in her house, fills in many blanks for Rosie about her mother’s past and her own destiny as a witch hunter. Rosie doesn’t have much time to absorb this information before she has to confront the Memory Thief, the witch who stole her mother’s memory on the night of Rosie’s birth. Anderson skillfully applies this layer of magic to a relatable story of growing up and coming into one’s own. The dynamic between Rosie and Germ rings true in both its reliability and its newly felt strain, and Anderson’s malevolent witches are truly unsettling. First in the Thirteen Witches series, this expertly crafted story thrums with magic, love, and tense action, and it’s a sure bet for Joseph Delaney or Kelly Barnhill fans. - Copyright 2021 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...