Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Ivy and Bean
 Author: Barrows, Annie

 Illustrator: Blackall, Sophie

 Publisher:  Chronicle Books
 Pub Year: 2007

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 120 p., ill., 19 cm.

 BTSB No: 093850 ISBN: 9780811849036
 Ages: 6-10 Grades: 1-5

 Subjects:
 Friendship -- Fiction
 Neighbors -- Fiction

Price: $13.18

Summary:
When seven-year-old Bean plays a mean trick on her sister, she finds unexpected support for her antics from Ivy, the new neighbor, who is less boring than Bean first suspected.

Series:
Ivy And Bean , Bk. 1


Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 3.20
   Points: 1.0   Quiz: 105488
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: K-2
   Reading Level: 2.70
   Points: 4.0   Quiz: 39333

Common Core Standards 
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → 3.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → 3.RL Craft & Structure
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → 3.RL Range of Reading & Level of Text Complexity
   Grade 3 → Reading → RF Foundational Skills → 3.RF Phonics & Word Recognition
   Grade 3 → Reading → RF Foundational Skills → 3.RF Fluency
   Grade 3 → Reading → CCR College & Career Readiness Anchor Standards fo
   Grade 4 → Reading → RL Literature → 4.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 4 → Reading → RL Literature → 4.RL Craft & Structure
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → Texts Illustrating the Complexity, Quality, & Rang
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Integration of Knowledge & Ideas
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Range of Reading & Level of Text Complexity
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → Texts Illustrating the Complexity, Quality, & Rang
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Integration & Knowledge of Ideas
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Range of Reading & Level of Text Complexity
   Grade 2 → Reading → CCR College & Career Readiness Anchor Standards fo
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → Texts Illustrating the Complexity, Quality, & Rang
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → 3.RL Integration & Knowledge of Ideas
   Grade 4 → Reading → RL Literature → 4.RL Integration & Knowledge of Ideas
   Grade 4 → Reading → RL Literature → Texts Illustrating the Complexity, Quality, & Rang

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (05/01/06)
   School Library Journal (00/07/06)
   Booklist (+) (04/01/06)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (06/06)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 07/01/2006 Gr 1-4-Seven-year-old Bean likes stomping in puddles, climbing fences into neighbors' backyards, and playing tricks on her older sister, Nancy. She wears dresses as seldom as possible and avoids big books. Her new neighbor appears to be a quiet, orderly girl who sits on her front step day after day reading tomes. The two seem to have nothing in common, and Bean is not interested in getting to know Ivy, despite her mother's prodding to make friends with the nice girl next door. Then Bean gets into trouble, and Ivy helps her out. She discovers that Ivy is practicing to be a witch, and when they decide to cast a spell on Nancy, their friendship is sealed. With echoes of Beverly Cleary's "Ramona" series, this easy chapter book will appeal to children who are graduating from beginning readers. The occasional black-and-white illustrations highlight the text and provide visual clues. The characters are appealing, the friendship is well portrayed, and the pranks and adventures are very much on grade level.-Eve Ottenberg Stone, Cooper Lane Elementary, Landover Hills, MD Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information. - Copyright 2006 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 04/01/2006 *Starred Review* Gr. 1-3. In the tradition of Betsy and Tacy, Ginnie and Geneva, come two new friends, Ivy and Bean. Ivy has just moved in across the street from Bean, who wants no part of her. She thinks Ivy looks dull, always with her nose in a book. Bean, on the other hand, is a spark plug; she’s full of tricks, especially ones that can be played on her older sister, Nancy. But the day Bean pulls a trick that goes wrong and Ivy comes to her rescue, a friendship is born. The deliciousness here is in the details, with both girls drawn distinctly and with flair. Ivy, who at first seems to be a dud, has aspirations to being a witch, which is dangerously intriguing; Bean’s spunky way of talking and acting (there’s a classic moment when she wiggles her butt at Nancy) will make readers giggle. Even with all the text’s strong points, what takes the book to a higher level is Blackall’s artwork, which captures the girls’ spirit. A chapter from the second book in the series, to be published in this fall, will whet readers’ appetites for more Ivy and Bean. - Copyright 2006 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...