Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Girl with the dragon heart
 Author: Burgis, Stephanie

 Publisher:  Bloomsbury Children's Books (2018)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 277 p.,  21 cm

 BTSB No: 173450 ISBN: 9781681196978
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Spies -- Fiction
 Kings and rulers -- Fiction
 Fairies -- Fiction
 Magic -- Fiction
 Dragons -- Fiction
 Chocolate -- Fiction
 Fantasy fiction

Price: $20.76

Summary:
Silke has an unexpected opportunity to learn what happened to her parents years before when Princess Katrin asks her to stay at the palace as a spy during a visit from the rulers of Elfenwald.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 6.10
   Points: 10.0   Quiz: 500671

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (+) (10/01/18)
   School Library Journal (09/01/18)
   Booklist (10/15/18)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/11/18)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 09/01/2018 Gr 4–6—This companion novel to The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart follows Aventurine's closest human friend, Silke, who saved her life at the end of the previous book. Silke, 13, has been on a singular path to build a better life ever since she lost her parents in the Elfenwald forest seven years ago. Her brother, Dieter, does not understand her desire to leave behind their little market stall and seek out a different life. When not peddling goods with her brother, she works at the the Chocolate Heart with Aventurine as an promoter and waitress. When Silke is able to use her cunning and charisma to help Aventurine escape a sticky situation, the crown Princess comes seeking her help. Before she knows it, Silke has agreed to pose as a lady-in-waiting for an upcoming visit from the mysterious and clandestine royal court of Elfenwald. Dropped into a completely alien environment and removed from her cozy life in the Chocolate Heart, Silke must adapt and avoid the intrigue and backstabbing of court life. While it is useful to have read the previous book, this works well as a standalone novel. The characters from Chocolate Heart make appearances but the focus here is on Silke and her story. Silke is described as having brown skin with short, dark hair, and a penchant for wearing pants instead of skirts. The author also manages to weave in some commentary on immigration and asylum seekers. Though it is a bit slow to take off, the last third is fast paced and full of adventure. VERDICT Recommended for fans of Tamora Pierce and Gail Carson Levine, or anyone looking for a book which features strong women who save the day.—Sara Brunkhorst, Indian Trails Public Library District, IL - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 10/15/2018 In this companion book to Dragon with a Chocolate Heart? (2017), the focus shifts to the dragon girl’s best friend, Silke, whose parents disappeared while crossing the fairies’ territory years earlier. The powerful crown princess enlists Silke to spy on elven royalty during their unwelcome diplomatic visit to the royal city. Why have the elves come? And where are her parents? A former street urchin disguised as a lady-in-waiting, Silke uses her quick wits, conniving ways, and storytelling skills to find answers before the elves strike. A strong sequel to Burgis’ first Dragon novel, this adventure features a more vulnerable, more flawed, literally more human heroine. The backstory set up in the previous book becomes more resonant here, as Silke realizes the vital importance of her friends as well as the family she has apparently lost. The court settings contrast effectively with her “real” life, though she draws on her unusual past to understand the haughty royal characters, both human and elven. A well-knit story combining court intrigue and strange alliances with a heartening conclusion. - Copyright 2018 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...