Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Flamecaster (Shattered realms)
 Author: Chima, Cinda Williams

 Publisher:  HarperTeen (2016)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 535 p.,  22 cm.

 BTSB No: 211448 ISBN: 9780062380944
 Ages: 13-17 Grades: 8-12

 Resistance to government -- Fiction
 Magic -- Fiction
 Fantasy fiction

Price: $22.78

Adrian sul'Han, known as Ash, is a trained healer with a powerful gift of magic--and a thirst for revenge. Ash is forced into hiding after a series of murders throws the queendom into chaos because of the cruel king of Arden. Abandoned at birth, Jenna Bandelow was told that the magemark on the back of her neck would make her a target. When the King's Guard hunts her, Jenna can't figure out why. When Ash's and Jenna's paths cross, they will rescue each other in ways they cannot yet imagine.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: UG
   Reading Level: 5.40
   Points: 18.0   Quiz: 182046

   Kirkus Reviews (+) (02/15/16)
   Booklist (04/01/16)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 04/01/2016 Cruel King Montaigne of Arden holds the lives of four teens in his twisted hands: Jenna from the mining district, who has a distinctive mage mark on the nape of her neck; Adam, a young mage equally capable of healing or killing; Lila, a spy and smuggler who has the king’s favor; and Destin, savvy son of the king’s general and seemingly despised by his father. As the teens’ lives converge, a kingdom and the Seven Realms hang in the balance. The children of characters from Chima’s Seven Realms series start their own adventures, and this series starter introduces major players and conflicts. It takes a while to get everyone positioned, but the payoff is worth the wait, and by the time the teens come together, readers are already hooked by mild romance and hints of complications to come—not the least of which is the appearance of dragons. Chima fans will love this familiar fare, but also try it with readers of Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series or Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle. - Copyright 2016 Booklist.

View MARC Record