Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Owl sees owl
 Author: Godwin, Laura

 Illustrator: Dunlavey, Rob

 Publisher:  Schwartz & Wade Books
 Pub Year: 2016

 Classification: Easy
 Physical Description: [33] p., col. ill., 26 cm

 BTSB No: 382915 ISBN: 9780553497823
 Ages: 3-7 Grades: K-2

 Subjects:
 Owls -- Fiction

Price: $20.71

Summary:
A baby owl leaves the nest one night, explores the world around him, sees his own reflection, and then returns to the safety of home.


Reviews:
   School Library Journal (+) (00/07/16)
   Booklist (+) (07/01/16)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 07/01/2016 PreS-Gr 1—"Soar/Glide/Swoop/Swoosh." A young owlet leaves his nest one night for a solo adventure—and, by the light of the moon, sees his reflection in the water. "Owl/Sees/Owl." Startled, he makes his way back home, where he finds safety in the comfort of his nest. "Sister/Brother/Mama/Home." With only a few words per page, this poetic picture book is inspired by reverso poetry. Words that lead up to Owl seeing himself in the water are rearranged as he returns home. The mirroring of repetitive, rearranged text, coupled with tranquil, mostly blue watercolor and mixed-media illustrations, makes for a meditative and soothing experience for all readers. This is an ideal storytime choice for very young children because of the large print and thoughtful placement of text; basic words and concepts make this an obvious selection for early literacy enthusiasts. Fans of the author's previous work One Moon, Two Cats will once again appreciate her introspective yet economical use of words to convey exploration and peacefulness. Fans of Jane Yolen's Owl Moon and Martin Waddell's Owl Babies will also love this calming story about an owl's first adventure. VERDICT Those who enjoy poetry and picture books will find quiet contemplation in this obvious choice that will appeal to any audience.—Natalie Braham, Denver Public Library - Copyright 2016 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 07/01/2016 *Starred Review* One night, a small owl ventures out of its nest. Like a curious child seeking adventure, the owl leaves the safety of home and family to explore the larger world. Using only four well-chosen words, which resemble short poems, on each two-page spread, a whole story is told. “Tree / Nest / Hop / Look”—and the owl is poised on a branch. “Jump / Flutter / Flap / Fly”—and the owl is on its way. The full moon is ever present, lending enough light for the owl and the reader to see details such as fall leaves changing color, pumpkins on the ground, and mice scampering away from the owl, which is more intent on exploring than hunting. In a climactic scene, the owl’s trip takes it to a pond. There, in the water, “Owl / Sees / Owl,” or at least owl’s reflection. The amazing discovery sends the owl scurrying back into the sky. Furthering the theme of a mirror image, the text reverses itself. The same four words reappear on each page, but this time in opposite order, and the circular trail of words and pictures leads the little owl safely back home. Luminous blue-and-black-toned multimedia illustrations, rendered in soft shapes and rich colors, convey the quiet, dark beauty of an autumn night. Simple yet stirring, this is perfect for preschooler bedtimes. - Copyright 2016 Booklist.

School Library Journal - 12/01/2016 PreS-Gr 1—One autumn night, a young owl awakens and goes for a brief moonlit flight while his parents and siblings slumber. Godwin's text—a spare reverso poem comprised of a few sight words per page—and Dunlavey's breathtaking illustrations, dominated by lush hues of blue, combine for a serene, lyrical tale that's bound to instill a love of poetry in children. - Copyright 2016 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...