Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 What about worms!? (Elephant & Piggie like reading!)
 Author: Higgins, Ryan T.

 Publisher:  Hyperion Books for Children (2020)

 Classification: Easy
 Physical Description: 51 p., col. ill., 23 cm

 BTSB No: 443462 ISBN: 9781368045735
 Ages: 4-7 Grades: K-2

 Subjects:
 Fear -- Fiction
 Tigers -- Fiction
 Worms -- Fiction

Price: $15.17

Summary:
Tiger unwittingly helps some worms overcome their fear of tigers with a well-placed, informative book, but will a wormy hug aid a fearful Tiger?

 Added Entry - Personal Name: Willems, Mo

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (03/15/20)
   School Library Journal (03/01/20)
   Booklist (03/01/20)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/05/20)
 The Hornbook (00/05/20)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 03/01/2020 PreS-Gr 2—Piggie and Elephant have a grave dilemma: Should they read a book about worms, even if they are uncertain how it will end? They bravely decide to, and as they read, they meet a tiger who is also afraid of worms. Worms are obviously slimy and wiggly, thinks Tiger. Suddenly every object Tiger comes upon is related to worms. Flowers plus dirt equal worms. Crunchy apples equal worms. A book on the ground with a wiggly illustration must be a worm, too! Tiger runs away just as a group of striped worms declares it is afraid of tigers. Ultimately, the worms realize the book Tiger left behind is about tigers, but will they be daring enough to read it? Fans of Piggie and Elephant will be drawn to this title because of Willems's familiar text style. The accompanying illustrations on white and colored backgrounds effectively show the characters' energy and emotions. VERDICT Readers will identify with the characters' reluctance to try new things and learning about unfamiliar topics.—Martha Rico, Yselta ISD, TX - Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 03/01/2020 If it’s not apparent from the cute, cuddly illustrations, Tiger is big, brave, and unafraid . . . except when it comes to worms. Slimy, wiggly worms, to be more precise. Tiger’s fear gets out of hand as he begins worrying about things that could potentially contain worms—a pot of flowers, an apple, a book—until he abandons them all, as well as his dignity, and runs off screaming. Higgins’ over-the-top comedy, with its speech-bubble dialogue, textual repetition, and emotive artwork, fits nicely within the Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! series. Events take an entertaining turn when some tiger-phobic worms make an appearance, but, after reading about these furry creatures, they realize that Tiger is probably quite nice. A silly choice for early readers that lets positive messaging about literacy worm its way in. - Copyright 2020 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...