Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 What dat? : the great big Uglydoll book of things to look at, search for, point to, and wonder about
 Author: Horvath, David

 Added Entry - Personal Name: Kim, Sun-Min

 Publisher:  Random House
 Pub Year: 2011

 Classification: Easy
 Physical Description: [26] p., col. ill., 30 cm.

 BTSB No: 464522 ISBN: 9780375864346
 Ages: 6-8 Grades: 1-3

 Subjects:
 Dolls -- Fiction
 Picture dictionaries

Price: $6.50

Summary:
A busy new word book featuring the popular Uglydoll characters.


Common Core Standards 
   Grade K → Reading → RL Literature → K.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade K → Reading → RL Literature → K.RL Craft & Structure
   Grade K → Reading → RL Literature → K.RL Integration of Knowledge & Ideas
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Integration of Knowledge & Ideas
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Range of Reading & Level of Text Complexity
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Range of Reading & Level of Text Complexity
   Grade 2 → Reading → CCR College & Career Readiness Anchor Standards fo
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → 3.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → 3.RL Integration & Knowledge of Ideas

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (07/01/11)
   School Library Journal (09/01/11)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 09/01/2011 PreS-Gr 3—In the tradition of Richard Scarry's Busytown, Horvath and Kim have created a word book featuring the Uglyverse. Each spread has bright, labeled cartoon illustrations, and brief paragraphs ask readers to find different things on each page. The scenarios, while full, are not too busy, so the items are easy to find and the labels are easy to read. The scenes are funny, and some jokes are obviously intended for an older audience. At the Farmer's Market, the main character, Babo, says, "I'll have a melted ice, hold the H20." These jokes will be easily passed over by younger children as they are buried within the scenes. The popularity of the toys combined with the fun of a look-and-find word book should make this a popular choice.—Laura Stanfield, Campbell County Public Library, Ft. Thomas, KY - Copyright 2011 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...