Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Beatrice Zinker, upside down thinker (Beatrice Zinker, Upside Down Thinker)
 Author: Johannes, Shelley

 Publisher:  Disney/Hyperion (2017)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 154 p., col. ill., 20 cm

 BTSB No: 492124 ISBN: 9781484767382
 Ages: 7-10 Grades: 2-5

 Subjects:
 Attitude (Psychology) -- Fiction
 Friendship -- Fiction
 School stories
 Humorous fiction

Price: $19.36

Summary:
Beatrice is afraid she is losing her best friend so she uses her topsy-turvy way of thinking to get things looking up.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 4.00
   Points: 2.0   Quiz: 190443
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 3-5
   Reading Level: 3.30
   Points: 5.0   Quiz: 71777

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (07/15/17)
   School Library Journal (08/01/17)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/09/17)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 08/01/2017 Gr 2–4—In the tradition of Ramona Quimby and Clementine, this chapter book series debut tells the story of a young girl dealing with the problems of friendship, family, and school. Beatrice Zinker is an unusual girl; she does all her best thinking while hanging upside down. She and her friend Lenny agree to wear ninja suits on the first day of third grade. But during the summer, something changed. Lenny came back from vacation with a new best friend—and she isn't wearing her ninja suit. Beatrice is devastated and has to come up with an idea to rebuild the friendship before it is lost forever. While there are many titles that feature realistic stories about young characters dealing with the problems of friendship and family, Beatrice stands tall among her contemporaries. Readers will appreciate the heart, humor, and clever storytelling in the upside down adventures of Beatrice Zinker. Illustrations on nearly every page make this ideal for children transitioning to chapter books. VERDICT A great choice for fans of Beverly Cleary and Sarah Pennypacker.—Patrick Tierney, Dr. Martin Luther King Elementary School, Providence - Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...