Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Do unto otters : (a book about manners)
 Author: Keller, Laurie


 Publisher:  Square Fish/Holt
 Pub Year: 2009

 Classification: Easy
 Physical Description: [34] p., col. ill., 29 cm.

 BTSB No: 512057 ISBN: 9780805079968
 Ages: 5-8 Grades: K-3

 Subjects:
 Golden rule -- Fiction
 Neighborliness -- Fiction
 Rabbits -- Fiction
 Otters -- Fiction

Price: $20.01

Summary:
Mr. Rabbit wonders if he will be able to get along with his new neighbors, who are otters, until he is reminded of the golden rule.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 2.70
   Points: .5   Quiz: 159021
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: K-2
   Reading Level: 2.30
   Points: 1.0   Quiz: 41371

Common Core Standards 
   Grade K → Reading → RL Literature → K.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade K → Reading → RL Literature → K.RL Craft & Structure
   Grade K → Reading → RL Literature → K.RL Integration of Knowledge & Ideas
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Integration of Knowledge & Ideas
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Range of Reading & Level of Text Complexity
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Range of Reading & Level of Text Complexity
   Grade 2 → Reading → CCR College & Career Readiness Anchor Standards fo

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (08/15/07)
   School Library Journal (00/09/07)
   Booklist (+) (10/15/07)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 09/01/2007 Gr 1-3-Mr. Rabbit is worried that he might not get along with his new neighbors. A wise owl gives him the advice, "Do unto otters as you would have otters do unto you" and proceeds to explain what this means. Thus follows a listing of traits and qualities such as friendliness, politeness, honesty, consideration, cooperation, and sharing. Each one contains humorous examples of Mr. Rabbit and the Otters following those rules. Also included are samples of how to say certain phrases such as "Excuse me" and "Please" in Spanish, French, German, Japanese, and Pig Latin. Each page bursts with colorful illustrations and is scattered with words of different sizes and fonts. This simple story is certain to appeal to children.-Donna Atmur, Los Angeles Public Library Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information. - Copyright 2007 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 10/15/2007 *Starred Review* From the gleeful title pun to the kinetic illustrations, this clever book from the creator of Open Wide: Tooth School Inside (2000) introduces the golden rule with irresistible humor. Mr. Rabbit is worried about life with his new neighbors, the Otter family: “I don’t know anything about otters. What if we don’t get along?” Then a wise bird introduces Mr. Rabbit to a favorite saying: “Do unto otters as you would have otters do unto you.” As Rabbit ponders how he would like to be treated, he covers the basics of polite and responsible behavior, from saying a cheerful “hello” and “please” and “thank you” to being honest, considerate, and kind. The clean design features well-placed arrows and other visual cues to help children quickly jump through the multiple images on each page, a feature that, combined with the wildly expressive cartoon-style animal characters, makes the scenes feel like part of an animated film. As usual, Keller packs the tale with unabashedly goofy puns, jokes, and even a few fart references, and the sheer silliness and well-tuned comic timing of it all will easily pull kids into the clearly explained concepts. Pair this sly, intelligent guide to etiquette with other equally unstuffy picture-book titles in the adjacent “Read-alikes: Mind Your Manners.” - Copyright 2007 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...