Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Lila and Hadley
 Author: Keplinger, Kody

 Publisher:  Scholastic Press (2020)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 245 p.,  21 cm

 BTSB No: 514799 ISBN: 9781338306095
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Pit bull terriers -- Fiction
 Dogs -- Training -- Fiction
 Retinitis pigmentosa -- Fiction
 Blind -- Fiction
 People with disabilities -- Fiction
 Sisters -- Fiction
 Mother-daughter relationship -- Fiction
 Anger -- Fiction
 Kentucky -- Fiction

Price: $20.76

Summary:
Hadley is an angry girl: angry at her mother for embezzling money, angry at her estranged older sister, Beth, whom she has to live with while her mother is in jail, angry at having to move to Kentucky away from her friends, and angry at the world because she has retinitis pigmentosa and is slowly going blind; but then she meets Lila, a rescued pit bull who has not responded to anyone else--so if Hadley can train Lila, maybe the dog can get adopted into her forever home, and just maybe Lila can help Hadley deal with her own problems.

Video Preview:

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 4.30
   Points: 7.0   Quiz: 506813

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (01/01/20)
   School Library Journal (04/01/20)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 04/01/2020 Gr 3–7—Growing up is difficult for most kids, but when you add in a single parent who is suddenly put in jail, having to move in with an older sister who you haven't seen in years and a degenerative eye disease that is slowly making you blind, things can seem even more impossible. Keplinger's novel handles all of these subjects without becoming overwhelming to the reader. Hadley's life seems like it's going as well as it possibly can when everything is turned upside down: Her mom is taken to jail for stealing money from her job, Hadley's degenerative eye disease is progressing faster than the doctors expected, and now she has to move hours away from her best friends to live with her sister. Through first-person narrative, Hadley reveals why she feels so angry and alone even when she is surrounded by others. After walking around the dog rescue where her sister works, she ends up befriending a dog named Lila, who will not respond to anyone but Hadley. The girl reluctantly ends up teaching Lila different commands while making a deal with the dog that if she responds to training, Hadley will attend mobility classes to learn how to navigate her gradually failing eyesight. Keplinger creates a story about growth focusing on the experiences of Lila and Hadley where each of them starts to come out of their shells and accept their surroundings. VERDICT A unique title that touches on experiences not covered in many middle grade books (going blind, mobility training, and dog training), with relatable and engaging characters. For fans of Wendy Mass's A Mango-Shaped Space and Andy Behrens's The Fast and the Furriest.—Lenore Catalano, Hammarskjold Middle School, East Brunswick, NJ - Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

School Library Journal - 04/01/2020 - Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...