Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Missed meal mayhem
 Author: Lerner, Jarrett

 Publisher:  Aladdin (2021)

 Classification: Easy
 Physical Description: 128 p., col. ill., 20 cm

 BTSB No: 565137 ISBN: 9781534462823
 Ages: 5-8 Grades: K-3

 Subjects:
 Food -- Fiction
 Hunger -- Fiction
 Superheroes -- Fiction
 School stories

Price: $15.79

Summary:
It was a typical Monday when the Hunger Heroes got the call: a kid in Ms. Sternbladder's class hadn't eaten since the night before and wasn't allowed to sneak snacks! How would he pass his spelling test, study for math, or play soccer at recess if his stomach was growling out of control? It's the Hunger Heroes to the rescue! Some pages are in graphic novel format.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 2.70
   Points: .5   Quiz: 515142

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (10/01/21)
   School Library Journal (00/10/21)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 10/01/2021 K-Gr 3—The Hunger Heroes are a group of taco ingredient superheroes who rescue people suffering from hunger. There's a bold bean named Mr. Toots; Chip Ninja, who's armed with gadgets; Tammy, a tamale who loves to sing; and Leonard, a nervous piece of cheese. When an elementary school student named Jason misses breakfast on the day of a big math test, the heroes head to his elementary school to help him get back on track. Bathroom humor and over-the-top antics abound in this colorful graphic novel. The text is large with plenty of white space in the speech boxes, making it accessible even for emerging readers. Some of the more complex vocabulary is explained, and the illustrations effectively support and help provide context. The graphics are bright and cartoonish; Jason is brown-skinned, and the other humans pictured are racially diverse. The humor will appeal to the age demographic, with plenty of food and fart jokes to go around. The ending leaves the door open for more adventures of this taco crew. VERDICT Fans of Andy Griffiths and Dav Pilkey will enjoy this zany graphic novel.—Ellen Conlin, Naperville P.L., IL - Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...