Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Lucy Lopez, coding star (After-School Superstars)
 Author: Mills, Claudia

 Publisher:  Holiday House (2020)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 117 p., ill., 20 cm

 BTSB No: 647322 ISBN: 9780823446285
 Ages: 7-10 Grades: 2-5

 Subjects:
 Computer programming -- Fiction
 After-school programs -- Fiction
 School stories

Price: $20.18

Summary:
Third-grader Lucy Lopez attends coding camp at her after-school program and becomes a coding star.

 Illustrator: Zong, Grace


Download a Teacher's Guide

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 5.10
   Points: 3.0   Quiz: 510239

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (09/01/20)
   Booklist (02/01/21)
 The Hornbook (00/01/21)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 02/01/2021 Lucy Lopez is a third grader whose older sister, Elena, has been spending a lot of time coding with her friends. To try to get more time with Elena herself, Lucy creates the Let’s Have Fun Club, so they can work together and earn badges that they create. At first it works great and both girls have fun, but Elena becomes annoyed anytime Lucy turns out to be good at the same things she is. Lucy doesn’t understand why sharing interests or talents is a problem, so she joins the after-school coding club. Unfortunately, Elena does not like this, especially when Lucy discovers she is as good as, if not better than, Elena at coding. Not to worry, the sisters eventually turn their rift into a bonding opportunity. This illustrated early-chapter book takes on sibling rivalry and STEM themes in a way that will resonate with many readers and encourage them to try new things. A natural pick for fans of Andrea Beaty's Questioneers series or Gene Luen Yang's Secret Coders books. - Copyright 2021 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...