Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Grand theft horse
 Author: Neri, G.

 Illustrator: Wilkin, Corban

 Publisher:  Tu Books
 Pub Year: 2018

 Dewey: 741.5
 Classification: Nonfiction
 Physical Description: 220 p., ill., 22 cm

 BTSB No: 670804 ISBN: 9781620148556
 Ages: 12-15 Grades: 7-10

 Subjects:
 Horses -- Fiction
 Animal abuse -- Fiction
 Horse theft -- Fiction
 Graphic novels

Price: $22.11

Summary:
Inspired by the true experiences of horse trainer Gail Ruffu, this graphic novel documents Gail's decision to take a racehorse from the hands of a group of abusive co-owners and the legal battles that followed.

Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 6-8
   Reading Level: 4.30
   Points: 6.0   Quiz: 75279

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (08/01/18)
   School Library Journal (09/01/18)
 The Hornbook (00/01/19)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 09/01/2018 Gr 7 Up—Neri's graphic novel biography of his cousin Gail Ruffu mixes true crime and legal drama with horse racing and animal activism. When "horse whisperer" Ruffu met Urgent Envoy, she felt a deep connection. Teaming up with Bud Clayton and his horse racing syndicate, she invested in the horse as a co-owner and trainer. On Christmas Eve the next year, in 2004, Ruffu stole Urgent Envoy to keep him from racing to death after he developed a hairline shin fracture. But the others didn't see it that way. As they pressed charges and denied Ruffu's side of the story, Ruffu risked everything—her career, her horse racing license, potential jail time—for justice. This gripping seven-part exposé lifts the veil on corruption in the horse racing industry and introduces one of the sport's pioneers. As the narrative jumps through time and travels between locations (mostly Texas and California), readers learn more about Ruffu, including her "Air Force brat" upbringing and Creole heritage. Wilkin's boldly outlined pen-and-ink art is all angles and scratchy lines, expertly conveying emotions and action sequences. Appended photographs of the subjects enrich the work, as does a call-to-action afterword from Ruffu. VERDICT Superb. Ruffu's tenacity and the book's satisfying conclusion will appeal to fans of John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell's "March" trilogy.—Alec Chunn, Eugene Public Library, OR - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...