Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Growing pangs
 Author: Ormsbee, Kathryn

 Publisher:  Random House (2022)

 Dewey: 741.5
 Classification: Nonfiction
 Physical Description: 249 p., col. ill., 21 cm

 BTSB No: 691810 ISBN: 9780593301289
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Graphic novels
 Obsessive-compulsive disorder -- Fiction
 Friendship -- Fiction
 Home schooling -- Fiction
 Kentucky -- Fiction

Price: $18.58

Summary:
Eleven-year-old homeschooled Katie experiences the ups and downs of growing up and 6th grade--from bad haircuts and friendship breakups to new experiences, new friends, and a new understanding of her OCD. In graphic novel format.

 Illustrator: Brooks, Molly
Glendining, Bex
Schuenke, Elise
Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 3.00
   Points: 1.0   Quiz: 516887

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (03/15/22)
   School Library Journal (06/01/22)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/03/22)
 The Hornbook (00/07/22)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 06/01/2022 Gr 3–6—Katie, who struggles with anxiety and obsessive-compulsive tendencies, heads to summer camp with her best friend Kacey. While Katie branches out and begins meeting new friends, both at camp and afterwards at her homeschool co-op, Kacey has a hard time coping with the changes in their relationship, and the two grow apart. Meanwhile, Katie continues to struggle with severe anxiety and OCD until eventually she is able to get help. This tweenage story of growing up is based on Ormsbee's own preteen and teen years struggling with similar issues. Katie's character is relatable, and young readers will connect with the symbolism of a buzzing bee to represent her anxiety. The struggles Katie faces with her friend Kacey will be familiar to many readers as well. Unfortunately, there are a few too many plot lines woven throughout the story, and they all feel a bit stunted. Brooks's artwork shines throughout and helps the story come to life. Her realistic, full-color scenes pair well with the story of early teenage struggles, and fans of other slice-of-life graphic novels will be drawn to this title. VERDICT Although it has too many subplots, this colorful graphic novel has a lot to grab the attention of many young readers. Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Kayla Miller are sure to enjoy it. Recommended for most collections.—Ellen Conlin - Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...