Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Laugh out loud
 Author: Patterson, James

 Added Entry - Personal Name: Grabenstein, Chris
 Illustrator: Ebbeler, Jeffrey

 Publisher:  Little, Brown
 Pub Year: 2017

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 275 p., ill., 20 cm

 BTSB No: 703867 ISBN: 9780316431460
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Books and reading -- Fiction
 Publishers and publishing -- Fiction
 Determination (Personality trait) -- Fiction
 Humorous fiction

Price: $17.91

Summary:
Imaginative middle schooler Jimmy follows his dream to start a unique book company while he is still a child.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 4.60
   Points: 4.0   Quiz: 190611
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 3-5
   Reading Level: 4.20
   Points: 8.0   Quiz: 72168

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (07/01/17)
   School Library Journal (07/01/17)
   Booklist (06/01/17)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 06/01/2017 The champion of children’s reading shovels autobiographical elements, references to popular middle-grade titles, and shots at dream-disparaging grown-ups into this tale of a boy named Jimmy, who’s ambitious to start a book-producing company run by and for kids. With enthusiastic help from Chris Grabbetts and other thinly disguised associates, Jimmy goes about learning the ins and outs of publishing, despite discouragement from parents, teachers, bankers, and even (with one exception) librarians. Writing the stories turns out to be the easiest part of all, as Jimmy is a positive fountain of premises that will be familiar to Patterson fans (Ordinary kids who are genetic mutants with wings? “Sounds awesome! You should totally write that up. It’d be a maximum ride!”), and manuscripts appear as if by magic. That all the naysayers get their comeuppance at the end is just one of the (young) crowd-pleasing aspects of this self-referential romp, and if it all seems more than a little self-serving, it’s such a worthy cause that it’s hard to take exception. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Patterson and Grabenstein are on their way to cornering the middle-grade market, and this meta peek behind the curtain should be a hit. - Copyright 2017 Booklist.

School Library Journal - 07/01/2017 Gr 5–8—Motivated middle school dreamer Jimmy loves books, reading, and writing. He longs to open the first children's publishing company run by kids, for kids. Jimmy and his friends are constantly met with derision from adults, but they persevere. Patterson and Grabenstein emphasize that dreams can come true if you take action and never give up. Fans and educators alike will appreciate the many kid lit authors and titles mentioned throughout. VERDICT A humorous adventure with a positive message. Readers who enjoy Patterson's "Middle School" and Tommy Greenwald's "Charlie Joe Jackson" series will gravitate toward this novel.—Elizabeth Pelayo, St. Charles East High School, IL - Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...