Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Worst mascot ever (Big Idea Gang)
 Author: Preller, James

 Publisher:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2019)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 88 p., ill., 21 cm

 BTSB No: 730594 ISBN: 9781328857187
 Ages: 7-10 Grades: 2-5

 Subjects:
 Mascots -- Fiction
 School stories
 Persuasion (Psychology) -- Fiction
 Friendship -- Fiction

Price: $14.37

Summary:
Four friends inaugurate their Big Idea Gang by starting a campaign to convince their principal and school to get a new mascot.

 Illustrator: Gilpin, Stephen
Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 3.60
   Points: 1.0   Quiz: 501932
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 3-5
   Reading Level: 3.20
   Points: 5.0   Quiz: 75909

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (10/01/18)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 10/01/2018 Gr 2–4—After their mascot's costume loses its tail, some Clay Elementary students are ready for a change to their school's image. When Lizzy O'Malley learns Connecticut is not a natural home for armadillos, she and her twin brother, Connor, and their friends Kym and Deon make a plan to present new options to their school principal. With the help of their cheerful and helpful teacher, Miss "Wow Me" Zipsokowski, the Big Idea Gang first pitches a new mascot to their class. Suri Brewster has an objection; she likes Arnold the Armadillo and she likes traditions. After a campaign, a school-wide assembly, and a school-wide vote, Clay Elementary's new mascot, Drake the Dragon, is born. This beginning chapter book showcases logic, problem solving, and collective action. Black ink illustrations offer visual representations of the characters and situations, while breaking up long passages for young readers building stamina. VERDICT Fans of James Preller's "Jigsaw Jones" and David Adler's "Cam Jansen" series will enjoy the camaraderie and ingenuity of the Big Idea Gang.–Lindsay Persohn, University of South Florida, Tampa and Polk County Public Schools. - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...