Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Made by Maxine
 Author: Spiro, Ruth

 Illustrator: Hatam, Holly

 Publisher:  Dial Books for Young Readers
 Pub Year: 2018

 Classification: Easy
 Physical Description: [32] p., col. ill., 23 cm

 BTSB No: 840786 ISBN: 9780399186295
 Ages: 4-8 Grades: K-3

 Subjects:
 Inventors -- Fiction
 Parades -- Fiction
 Aquarium fishes -- Fiction
 Fishes -- Fiction
 Aquariums -- Fiction

Price: $20.01

Summary:
When Maxine's school puts on a pet parade, she creates a unique contraption to allow her very special pet fish, Milton, to participate.


Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (09/01/18)
   School Library Journal (10/01/18)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 10/01/2018 PreS-Gr 2—Maxine likes to invent things from recycled parts and when her class has a pet parade, she searches for a way to create an inclusive device so her fish Milton can participate. Milton is no ordinary fish, but Maxine is not an ordinary girl either. She demonstrates the creativity, resilience, and intelligence needed to tackle scientific inquiry. Digital illustrations are fresh and vivid, employing a collage style that exemplifies Maxine's own philosophy of "making new things…from old things." Each vibrant page follows Maxine as she introduces Milton into her home, building him an incredible tank, a pedal-powered fish-feeder, and even staging a musical jam session for him. Yet when Maxine is faced with the prospect of a class Pet Parade, she faces a wall when it comes to building him a device to march with the other pets. Her plucky attitude prevails, for though she found a million ways to fail, it "meant she was getting closer to finding a way that would" work. Maxine succeeds and, along with Milton, they steal the show. This a great choice for fans of Andrea Beaty's Ada Twist, Scientist and Jenny Offill's 11 Experiments That Failed. VERDICT A fun and uplifting picture book for all libraries that encourages children to engage with STEM concepts.—Rachel Zuffa, Racine Public Library, WI - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...