Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Jack goes west (Jack Book)
 Author: Barnett, Mac

 Publisher:  Viking (2020)

 Classification: Easy
 Physical Description: [73] p., col. ill., 23 cm

 BTSB No: 091596 ISBN: 9780593113882
 Ages: 4-8 Grades: K-3

 Subjects:
 Rabbits -- Fiction
 Thieves -- Fiction
 Humorous fiction
Genres:
Humorous Fiction
Adventure Fiction
Animals

Price: $16.17

Summary:
Jack enters the wild west and looks for the nighttime bank bandit.

 Added Entry - Personal Name: Pizzoli, Greg
Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 1.90
   Points: .5   Quiz: 510054

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (11/15/19)
   School Library Journal (12/01/19)
 The Hornbook (00/01/20)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 12/01/2019 Gr 1–3—This series title will be a surefire hit with readers who love Mo Willems's "Elephant & Piggie" books. Similar to that series, this one is a step above beginning readers in terms of its vocabulary, is wildly funny, and is completely kid-friendly. Jack is a zany rabbit who, along with the cranky old lady who debuted in the first book, decides to head out west to a dude ranch. Once there, they make the acquaintance of Slim, a ranch hand. Slim kisses the lady's hand and offers to carry her things. Jack thinks this is more than a bit suspicious. In the middle of the night, an alarm sounds at the bank. It's been robbed and Slim stopped the burglary. But the perpetrator was too fast and got away. Slim takes all the credit for saving the day and he provides a description of the robber. Could it be Jack? The plot is wonderfully wacky and the illustrations help children navigate the story while providing opportunities to use both the text and the art to make inferences. An addendum shows readers how to draw Slim in a few easy steps, which kids will love. VERDICT This book has everything that kids love and will help make them stronger readers. You can't beat that.—Joan Kindig, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA - Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...