Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Drum roll, please
 Author: Bigelow, Lisa Jenn


 Publisher:  Harper
 Pub Year: 2018

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 306 p.,  21 cm

 BTSB No: 119744 ISBN: 9780062791146
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Drums -- Fiction
 Music camps -- Fiction
 Infatuation -- Fiction
 Lesbians -- Fiction
 Family life -- Fiction
 Friendship -- Fiction

Price: $20.01

Summary:
Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. It's the only time she doesn't feel like a mouse. Now she and Olivia are about to spend the next two weeks at Camp Rockaway, jamming under the stars in the Michigan woods. But this summer brings a lot of big changes for Melly: her parents split up, her best friend ditches her, and Melly finds herself unexpectedly falling for another girl at camp. To top it all off, Melly's not sure she has what it takes to be a real rock 'n' roll drummer. Will she be able to make music from all the noise in her heart?

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 4.40
   Points: 9.0   Quiz: 195679
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 6-8
   Reading Level: 3.50
   Points: 15.0   Quiz: 73847

Reviews:
   School Library Journal (+) (00/02/18)
   Booklist (03/01/18)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 02/01/2018 Gr 5–8—The day before 13-year-old drummer Melly heads to Camp Rockaway, her parents drop a bombshell: They're getting divorced. Suddenly, the next two weeks become about more than just hanging out with her best friend Olivia, swimming in the lake, and playing the drums. In this sweet and sincere summer story, Melly confronts a whirlwind of feelings as she observes Olivia's newfound intense interest in boys, learns to play in a band with strangers, and develops her first crush on a girl: her bandmate, Adeline. Camp Rockaway, with its endless music-related puns and earnest belief in music's transformative power, provides the perfect setting for Melly to navigate these major life events. Bigelow captures the emotional intensity of camp, where each day stretches long, and relationships can come together and fall apart in seconds. It is Melly's first-person narration that truly drives the story, always honest and self-reflective, even as she makes mistakes and struggles to understand and express her own feelings. Both fun and substantial, readable and empowering, this novel is a master class in balancing real issues with a light-hearted tone. Bigelow's compassionate take on the classic middle school topics of family, friendship, and first romance hits all the right notes. VERDICT Highly recommended; a perfect summer read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer Holm.—Molly Saunders, Homewood Public Library, AL - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 03/01/2018 Melly is super-duper shy and introverted, but a trip to camp during a difficult summer helps her find her stride. Melly’s summer begins with her parents informing her they are getting a divorce, just before sending her off with her drumsticks to a musical camp in the middle of the woods. To top it off, when she gets there, she’s split up from her best friend, and she’s somewhat alarmed to realize that she’s . . . actually OK. Bigelow captures that distinctive middle-grade experience of feeling like changes at home or in friendship are earth-shattering, and the music focus—particularly Melly’s rock-star aspirations—are especially endearing. Melly is a memorable, relatable character, and Bigelow tells her funny, heartfelt story with a lively blend of emotional moments and more musical puns than you can shake a (drum)stick at. Readers looking for an entertaining camp story, as well as fans of Victoria Jamieson’s Roller Girl (2015) or the long-running Lumberjanes series, will get a kick out of this empowering book. - Copyright 2018 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...