Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Lifetime passes
 Author: Blas, Terry

 Publisher:  Abrams ComicArts Surely (2021)

 Dewey: 741.5
 Classification: Nonfiction
 Physical Description: 154 p., col. ill.

 BTSB No: 124591 ISBN: 9781419746673
 Ages: 14-18 Grades: 9-12

 Subjects:
 Graphic novels
 Amusement parks -- Fiction
 Teenagers -- Fiction
 Old age -- Fiction
 Interpersonal relations -- Fiction

Price: $21.38

Summary:
A group of teens starts a program to bring senior citizens to a local theme park to take advantage of the unofficial park policy: If someone dies on the property, the rest of their party is given lifetime passes! But when the park's emotional and historical connection to one of the senior citizens unfolds, they begin to regret their scheme. In graphic novel format.

 Illustrator: Aguirre, Claudia

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (10/01/21)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 11/19/2021 Gr 9 Up—Blas and Aguirre's latest collaboration is a darkly comedic graphic novel about a teenage scheme gone awry. Friends Jackie, Nikki, Berke, and Daniel are united by their common love of the fictional Kingdom Adventure theme park in Santa Clarita. But as summer draws to a close, Jackie learns that Tía Gina—her caregiver in her deported parents' absence—can't afford to renew her season pass to the park. In a stroke of macabre genius, Jackie devises a plan. The park rules state that if someone dies on the premises, then all members of the group get lifetime passes. Jackie's idea? Bring elders into the park to die. Finding candidates from the assisted living facility where Tía Gina works, Jackie and her friends first volunteer to chaperone a very eager Phyllis. When Phyllis calls Jackie out for putting on an act, her friendships begin to unravel—and she and Phyllis grow closer. Will they ever get their passes? The first release from the publisher's Surely imprint refreshingly presents queer characters in a plot that has nothing to do with coming out. The brisk storytelling and imaginative full-color art evoke the hubbub of the theme park. However, Aguirre adds tender moments of stillness as characters relive memories or connect on a deeper level. Though many identities aren't labeled outright, Jackie is cued Latinx and the cast is diverse in skin tone, age, and sexuality. Elder recollections of past loves make this a good read-alike for Tee Franklin's Bingo Love. VERDICT Touching intergenerational friendships and endearing characters make for a satirical story with heart. Highly recommended.—Alec Chunn, Eugene P.L., OR - Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...