Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 School for good and evil (School for Good and Evil)
 Author: Chainani, Soman

 Publisher:  Harper (2013)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 488 p., ill., col. map, 22 cm.

 BTSB No: 204542 ISBN: 9780062104892
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Fantasy fiction
 School stories

Price: $22.08

Summary:
[Book 1] Witch-girl Agatha is "mistakenly" sent to the School for Good, and wannabe-princess Sophie to the School for Evil.

 Illustrator: Bruno, Iacopo


Download a Teacher's Guide



Video Preview:
Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 5.20
   Points: 16.0   Quiz: 161269
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 6-8
   Reading Level: 5.40
   Points: 24.0   Quiz: 61197

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (04/15/13)
   School Library Journal (06/01/13)
   Booklist (05/15/13)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (06/13)

Full Text Reviews:

Bulletin for the Center... - 06/01/2013 Every four years, two children are kidnapped from the small town of Galvaldon, appearing shortly thereafter as characters in the town’s storybooks, one child as a hero, the other a villain. Sophie is determined to get kidnapped this year and make her way to the School of Good, where a girl as princess-like as herself belongs. She does indeed get stolen away by the School Master, but so does her reluctant friend Agatha, a grumpty, sarcastic girl rumored to already be a witch. When the two arrive at the Schools, however, it’s Aggie who joins the princess ranks and Sophie who is cast down with the other wart-nosed villains in the School of Evil. Undoing what both girls believe to be a mistake by the school administration proves to be difficult, and soon Aggie is charming a prince, Sophie is leading a coven, and their friendship is falling apart. A backstory about the town’s curse and the school’s history becomes a little complicated, but the primary focus remains on the two girls and their efforts to sustain their relationship even as their circumstances and their own personalities change. As the villainess who thinks she is good, Sophie is hilariously entertaining in her lack of self-awareness, and it’s this charm that keeps reader with her even when she turns nasty. Aggie’s story as the odd girl out is poignant, and it will especialy resonate with kids overwhelmed by their own insecurities. The quirky boarding-school aspect is sure to please fans of Harry Potter (who will catch some allusions to Rowling’s work), while the magical mayhem and adventure make this an easy sell to young fantasy readers. KQG - Copyright 2013 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

School Library Journal - 06/01/2013 Gr 5–8—Every four years in the village of Gavaldon, two children are stolen away by a mysterious person known only as the Schoolmaster. These children become students at the School for Good and Evil. One will be taught the ways of goodness, honor, and beauty; the other will be instructed in the ways of darkness and villainy. Twelve-year-old Sophie just knows she's destined to be picked for the school of Good this year, and can't wait to assume the role of a princess and meet her Prince Charming. Her best friend, Agatha, is surely villain material with her dumpy looks, black clothes, and dour demeanor. So how is it that Sophie winds up in the School for Evil and Agatha the School for Good? Now both girls must work to succeed in their new roles or face dire consequences. The girls' friendship will be put to the test in ways they never imagined. This debut fantasy will attract sophisticated readers with a love of fairy tales, particularly the dark side of them. Despite some redundant scenes and pacing issues, there's plenty of action and emotion to keep an audience well entertained. Fans of Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm (Dutton, 2010) and Shannon and Dean Hale's graphic novel Rapunzel's Revenge (Bloomsbury, 2008) will be swept along in this wild story of good, evil, and two friends caught in between.—Stephanie Whelan, New York Public Library - Copyright 2013 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 05/15/2013 With overtones of Wicked, and shaped by the world of fairy tales, comes this story of two girls plucked from their village to attend the School for Good and Evil. Pretty (on the outside) Sophie has been hoping for the schoolmaster to take her to a place where she’ll become the princess she always imagined herself to be. Homely loner Agatha is the other chosen girl, someone Sophie befriended in an effort to show off her “goodness.” But their arrival at school leads to a shock, with Agatha placed with the Evers (as in happily ever after) and a distraught Sophie stuck with the creepy Nevers. So begins a tale that sees both girls fighting their fates—and at times each other—as they search for an ending that will encompass all that they are and what they’ve learned during their Grimm adventures. The terrific cover will draw readers in, the premise is a winner, and both Sophie and Agatha are strong characters. However, this is sometimes overwritten and repetitive, dragging the narrative down in places. But those who like their fantasy laced with fairy tale will surely enjoy it. - Copyright 2013 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...