Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Thirteenth fairy (Never After)
 Author: De la Cruz, Melissa

 Publisher:  Roaring Brook Press (2020)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 322 p.,  21 cm

 BTSB No: 265867 ISBN: 9781250311214
 Ages: 10-14 Grades: 5-9

 Fairy tales
 Fantasy fiction
 Adventure fiction
 Magic -- Fiction

Price: $21.38

Nothing ever happens in Filomena Jefferson-Cho's sleepy little suburban town of North Pasadena. But one day, when Filomena is walking home from school on her own, something strange happens. She encounters in real life one of the heroes from her favorite series of fairy tale books and he asks for her help. Soon, Filomena must save herself and the kingdom of Westphalia in the world of evil fairies, beautiful princesses, sorcerers and slayers, where an evil queen tries to destroy the Fairy tribes.

Video Preview:

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 5.00
   Points: 9.0   Quiz: 510124

   Kirkus Reviews (10/15/20)
   School Library Journal (+) (12/01/20)
   Booklist (11/01/20)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 12/01/2020 Gr 4–7—"Once upon a time in the days of old, eleven fairies gathered at court before a child to hold. Only eleven, for the twelfth was dead and the thirteenth was missing." At the christening of Princess Eliana, members of the court speculate why the 13th fairy, Princess Carabosse, is missing. While the Kingdom assumes the baby has been born to King Vladimir and evil Queen Olga, the baby's actual mother is the newly dead Queen Rosanna. This series opener is broken into parts that tie the fairy tale to modern times. Part One begins with Filomena Jefferson-Cho embarking on an unexpected adventure. Filomena is a sixth grader in North Pasadena, CA, with overprotective adoptive author parents who are always telling her stories of fairies that steal kids. At school, Filomena is bullied and teased for being smart, adopted, and of mixed heritage (she is Black, Asian, and white), which propels her towards her love of reading and the "Never After" series. She, like many other die-hard fans, has eagerly awaited the 13th and final installment, only to be crushed to find out that the author mysteriously disappeared without completing the series. On her way home from the bookstore, she is followed by a boy who turns out to be the books' dashing hero, Jack the Giant Stalker. He claims the books are an actual history of the fairy tribes. Author de la Cruz injects humor into the fantastical adventure among the heavier topics, such as bullying. Jack and Alistair come to Filomena's aid, and the trio go through a portal into the real Never After. Filomena learns she may be the key to the missing Princess, and she and her new friends embark on a treacherous journey rife with dragons, ogres, and evil Queens. VERDICT This series debut has something for most readers—a complex female heroine, middle school angst, plenty of action, and magic—which will leave them eagerly turning the pages—Michele Shaw, formerly at Quail Run Elem. Sch., San Ramon, CA - Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record