Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Legendborn
 Author: Deonn, Tracy

 Publisher:  Margaret K. McElderry (2020)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 501 p.,  23 cm

 BTSB No: 274204 ISBN: 9781534441606
 Ages: 14-18 Grades: 9-12

 Subjects:
 Secret societies -- Fiction
 Genealogy -- Fiction
 Demonology -- Fiction
 African Americans -- Fiction
 Colleges and universities -- Fiction
 Magic -- Fiction
 North Carolina -- Fiction
Genres:
Fantasy Fiction
Supernatural
Multicultural

Price: $22.78

Summary:
To discover the truth behind her mother's mysterious death, a teen girl infiltrates a magical secret society claiming to be the descendants of King Arthur and his knights.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: UG
   Reading Level: 5.20
   Points: 24.0   Quiz: 509875

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (07/15/20)
   School Library Journal (+) (00/07/20)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/09/20)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 07/01/2020 Gr 8 Up—In Deonn's rich and explosive debut, readers are introduced to a meticulously-built world of magic with roots in Arthurian legend and traditions of the African American South. After her mother's death, Bree enters an Early College program, despite still processing her grief. It's not long before she's pulled into a secret society, and is pushed by circumstance into dangerous tournaments to go from Page to Squire all while watching her back for the demons who would kill her. This book discusses pertinent topics such as institutional racism, intergenerational trauma, and feminism with grace and a natural, unforced style. Readers will delight in a delicious love triangle that promises to get more delectable with a sequel. Though heavy at times with exposition, the novel provides plenty of scenes rife with action and emotion. Deonn pulls off a surprise ending that will urge readers to start from the beginning, to collect the clues laid along the way. VERDICT A promising series debut perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Boys. This book underscores the movement for more inclusive versions of traditional Western narratives, and will be a favorite of contemporary fantasy readers. Highly recommended.—Abby Hargreaves, DC P.L. - Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

School Library Journal - 07/01/2020 - Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...