Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 We hunt the flame (Sands of Arawiya)
 Author: Faizal, Hafsah

 Publisher:  Farrar, Straus and Giroux/Square Fish (2020)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 472 p., map.

 BTSB No: 321022 ISBN: 9780374311544
 Ages: 14-18 Grades: 9-12

 Subjects:
 Fantasy fiction
 Magic -- Fiction
 Blessing and cursing -- Fiction
 Impersonation -- Fiction
 Middle East -- Fiction

Price: $9.01

Summary:
In a world inspired by ancient Arabia, seventeen-year-old huntress Zafira must disguise herself as a man to seek a lost artifact that could return magic to her cursed world.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: UG
   Reading Level: 5.50
   Points: 19.0   Quiz: 507002
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 9-12
   Reading Level: 5.50
   Points: 27.0   Quiz: 76888



Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 04/01/2019 *Starred Review* Magic disappeared long ago from Arawiya, and the kingdom is suffering for it. Zafira the Hunter disguises herself as a man to brave the cursed Arz, a forest that drives any who enter it insane. As the only soul capable of leaving the Arz whole, Zafira must feed her village with her routine hunts. Meanwhile, Nasir, the Prince of Death, strikes fear across the land as its most skilled assassin, efficiently cutting down anyone who poses a threat to his father's rule. Political unrest and a dying land force Zafira on a quest to restore magic to Arawiya before the encroaching forest consumes them all, and Nasir is set on her trail to retrieve the prize first and kill her. The treacherous journey throws the two enemies together, and they forge a tentative alliance to face a danger greater than either of them expected. Drawing inspiration from ancient Arabia, We Hunt the Flame gives exquisitely detailed insight into a cultural experience; this debut, about identity and unlikely allies, features subtly nuanced and deeply reflective characters. Layering high-stakes action with moods ranging from casual humor to raw anguish, Faizal bends fantasy tropes to her will to tell a fresh and gripping story about love, honor, and self-discovery that will leave readers scrambling for more. - Copyright 2019 Booklist.

School Library Journal - 05/01/2019 Gr 9 Up—Faizal's exciting, action-packed fantasy debut is set in Arawiya, a kingdom inspired by Arabian mythology. The Hunter, 17-year-old Zafira, disguised as a man, seeks a legendary jewel that will restore magic to the land. Assassin-prince Nasir intends to kill Zafira and take the jewel, but is stopped by their undeniable attraction and the threat of an even greater enemy. - Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

School Library Journal - 05/01/2019 Gr 9 Up—Once Arawiya was ruled by the Six Sisters of Old, who filled the lands with magic and peace until they disappeared, taking magic with them. Today it is a divided land where misogyny reigns—headed by a Sultan determined to rule all of the lands himself. Zafira lives her life on the fringes as The Hunter of the Arz, a terrifying forest no one would dare to penetrate. She must hunt to feed her village, and if she is discovered as a woman, her life will be over. Nasir is an assassin, forced to kill for his father, the corrupt Sultan. When the Silver Witch presents Zafira with a quest to bring magic back to her people, she takes it. Nasir, the Prince of Death himself, is tasked to capture her and steal the artifact for his father even if his heart is conflicted. Lyrical and filled with adventure, a slow-burn romance, and an unforgettable cast of characters in a world based on ancient Arabia, this is a debut series not to be missed. VERDICT Fans of Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes and Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone should get excited for their next obsession.—India Winslow, Cary Memorial Library, Lexington, MA - Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...