Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Game changer
 Author: Greenwald, Tom


 Publisher:  Amulet Books
 Pub Year: 2018

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 287 p.,  21 cm

 BTSB No: 400473 ISBN: 9781419731433
 Ages: 10-14 Grades: 5-9

 Subjects:
 Football -- Fiction
 Sports injuries -- Fiction
 Comas -- Fiction
 Hazing -- Fiction
 Family problems -- Fiction

Price: $20.01

Summary:
While thirteen-year-old Teddy fights for his life after a football injury at training camp, his friends and family gather to support him and discuss events leading to his coma. Told through dialogue, text messages, newspaper articles, transcripts, an online forum, and Teddy's inner thoughts.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 5.40
   Points: 4.0   Quiz: 196884
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 6-8
   Reading Level: 4.60
   Points: 4.0   Quiz: 75641

Common Core Standards 
   Grade 6 → Reading → RL Literature → 6.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 6 → Reading → RL Literature → 6.RL Craft & Structure
   Grade 7 → Reading → RL Literature → 7.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 7 → Reading → RL Literature → 7.RL Craft & Structure

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (07/15/18)
   School Library Journal (08/01/18)
   Booklist (09/01/18)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/09/18)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 08/01/2018 Gr 5–8—Thirteen-year-old Teddy Youngblood is in a coma after a severe football practice injury. But it soon becomes clear that it may not have been an accident; sinister motives may have been at play. Teddy's parents, who are at odds with each other, come together to deal with the tragic event. Greenwald dives right into the serious issues surrounding the dangers of football and hazing. The complexity of the story also plays out in the format: Greenwald uses text messages, one-sided conversations, transcripts, various reports, and Teddy's own thoughts to unfold the layers of story in this documentary style sports mystery. VERDICT A must-buy for libraries looking for innovative narratives for sports fans. Readers who enjoy Tim Green, Mike Lupica, and Kwame Alexander will want to pick this up.—Amy Lukich, Tinley Park Public Library, IL - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 09/01/2018 Freshman football player Teddy Youngblood, 13, is seriously injured during a practice session before the upcoming football season. Teddy's family, friends, and neighbors are distraught about it—it may be Teddy's favorite sport, but it just put him into a coma. Soon, rumors begin circulating around town that Teddy's accident was not an accident; rather, there is something suspicious afoot. Worried, Teddy's family and friends clamor to find the truth behind the accident. Greenwald's latest takes a fresh approach, telling the story through multiple characters and an almost free-verse style that combines inner thoughts, texts, social media feeds, newspaper articles, interview transcripts, and dialogue. Example: “Can you squeeze my hand? / Oh man / Oh man that’s perfect / Great job, Ted / Look at that.” The format presents no barrier for readers, who will rapidly adapt. Reminiscent of Mike Lupica’s Lone Stars (2017), Greenwald’s novel entertains while exposing readers to the potential risks and consequences inherent in the sport of football. Overall, a strong entry into Greenwald’s bibliography and an interesting, innovative read. - Copyright 2018 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...