Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 13-story treehouse
 Author: Griffiths, Andy

 Illustrator: Denton, Terry

 Publisher:  Feiwel and Friends
 Pub Year: 2013

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 239 p., ill., 22 cm.

 BTSB No: 402323 ISBN: 9781250026903
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Humorous fiction

Price: $17.71

Summary:
Andy and Terry live in a thirteen story treehouse, with a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, and a marshmallow machine that follows you around and automatically shoots marshmallows into your mouth whenever you're hungry.

Series:
Treehouse Books


Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 3.80
   Points: 1.0   Quiz: 157839
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 3-5
   Reading Level: 3.20
   Points: 5.0   Quiz: 60384

Reviews:
   School Library Journal (05/01/13)
   Booklist (04/01/13)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 04/01/2013 In this series starter that will appeal to fans of Jeff Kinney and Dav Pilkey, a young author-illustrator pair discover that a single day of life in their gigantic tree house provides enough material for a manuscript to satisfy their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. Episodes involving a giant banana attack, a sea monster masquerading as a mermaid, burp-filled bubblegum bubbles, a threatening gorilla, and 13 ferocious flying cats are described in bites of text plentifully seasoned with Denton’s scribbly, busy black-and-white cartoons, which vary from full page to spot to other rascally configurations that spill from the page. The wonderfully random slapstick humor is tailor-made for reluctant readers. Even better, each short chapter stands alone, though the whole story hangs together thanks to repeating motifs. A treat for all with a sequel promised for next year. And guess what? It makes for good tree house reading. - Copyright 2013 Booklist.

School Library Journal - 04/20/2013 Gr 3–5—Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. In addition to the normal rooms found in a house, it has a theater and library, a bowling alley, and a games room. The boys write and illustrate books, and are far behind on their deadline for their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. They bicker and procrastinate and experience many adventures and misadventures. Wacky stories about flying cats, a monster mermaid, a treehouse full of monkeys, and a banana-seeking giant gorilla will entertain and delight readers. Fun cartoons on every page will engage them and inspire giggles. The situations are described and illustrated so completely that readers will be instantly transported to the fantastic world of the 13-story treehouse. Fans of Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid"(Abrams) and Lincoln Peirce's "Big Nate" series (HarperCollins) will be drawn to this book, while parents will enjoy the absence of snarky humor.—Erica Thorsen Payne, Meriwether Lewis Elementary School, Charlottesville, VA - Copyright 2013 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...