Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Winterhouse (Winterhouse)
 Author: Guterson, Ben

 Publisher:  Holt (2018)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 370 p., ill., 21 cm

 BTSB No: 408465 ISBN: 9781250123886
 Ages: 9-12 Grades: 4-7

 Subjects:
 Hotels and motels -- Fiction
 Supernatural -- Fiction
 Magic -- Fiction
 Puzzles -- Fiction
 Orphans -- Fiction

Price: $20.88

Summary:
Elizabeth, eleven, spends Christmas break at Winterhouse hotel under strange circumstances, where she discovers that she has magic, and her love of puzzles helps her solve a mystery.

 Illustrator: Bristol, Chloe


Video Preview:
Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 5.90
   Points: 12.0   Quiz: 193943
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 3-5
   Reading Level: 5.70
   Points: 19.0   Quiz: 75386

Reviews:
   School Library Journal (00/01/18)
   Booklist (01/01/18)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 01/01/2018 Gr 4–6—Puzzle-loving bibliophile Elizabeth Somers is an 11-year-old orphan living with her impoverished and disagreeable Aunt Purdy and Uncle Burlap. Right before the holidays, Elizabeth finds herself locked out of her home and sent off to the amazing and magical hotel, Winterhouse. While there, she befriends the peculiar proprietor, Norbridge Falls, and is drawn to a unique book which opens up many secrets about Winterhouse and Elizabeth herself. Elizabeth also encounters a suspicious duo who are up to something nefarious and push her deeper into the mystery of the odd hotel. Elizabeth is a daring girl trying to get to the bottom of it all with her newfound and first friend Freddy while also enjoying all the wonderful things that she has been unable to experience living with her Aunt and Uncle. This entertaining mystery romp is a must-have for all young bibliophiles; it is chock full of book titles and literary references, both contemporary (Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library by Chris Grabentein) and classic (Anne of Green Gables). Each chapter title also includes a word ladder for puzzle lovers. Bristol's art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story. VERDICT A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford's Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society.—Kristyn Dorfman, The Packer Collegiate Institute, Brooklyn - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 01/01/2018 Eleven-year-old Elizabeth isn’t surprised to learn that her aunt and uncle are going on Christmas vacation without her, but she’s shocked that they’re sending her to a fancy resort while they’re away. Solitary and bookish, Elizabeth sets off for Winterhouse for what turns out to be a holiday filled with intrigue, magic, surprise, and—perhaps best of all—friendship. She is quickly made to feel at home in the grand old hotel by the warm welcome of Norbridge Falls (Winterhouse’s eccentric proprietor), Miss Leona (resident librarian), and her new friend Freddy. A creepy couple and a legend of a hidden book attract Elizabeth’s attention, fueling her desire to solve the Winterhouse’s long-standing mystery. Guterson’s debut is a natural fit for readers with a penchant for puzzles and wordplay in the vein of the Mr. Lemoncello’s Library series and Pseudonymous Bosch. Characterization is light, but the dual mysteries of the hidden book and Elizabeth’s family history will keep the pages turning. Though it doesn’t break new ground, this is a solid choice for middle-grade gumshoes. - Copyright 2018 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...