Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Bramble and Maggie : horse meets girl
 Author: Haas, Jessie

 Illustrator: Friend, Alison

 Publisher:  Candlewick Press
 Pub Year: 2012

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 51 p., col. ill., 23 cm.

 BTSB No: 408857 ISBN: 9780763649555
 Ages: 6-8 Grades: 1-3

 Subjects:
 Horses -- Fiction

Price: $18.61

Summary:
Bramble the horse gets bored giving riding lessons, but regains her enthusiasm when she goes to live with a girl named Maggie.

Series:
Bramble And Maggie


Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 2.10
   Points: .5   Quiz: 149820
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 3-5
   Reading Level: 1.70
   Points: 2.0   Quiz: 56976

Common Core Standards 
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Integration of Knowledge & Ideas
   Grade 1 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 1.RL Range of Reading & Level of Text Complexity
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Integration & Knowledge of Ideas
   Grade 2 → Reading → RL Reading Literature → 2.RL Range of Reading & Level of Text Complexity
   Grade 2 → Reading → CCR College & Career Readiness Anchor Standards fo
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → 3.RL Key Ideas & Details
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → 3.RL Craft & Structure
   Grade 3 → Reading → RL Literature → 3.RL Integration & Knowledge of Ideas

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (12/01/11)
   School Library Journal (08/01/14)
   Booklist (03/15/12)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (06/12)
 The Hornbook (00/03/12)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 03/01/2012 Gr 1–3—In this beginning chapter book, Bramble the horse is tired of giving children riding lessons around a ring. Her owner, Mrs. Blenkinsop, realizes the problem and concludes: "No more riding lessons for you. You need a person of your own to have fun with." Bramble is picky about her prospective buyers and temperamental with a girl who has a ring at home and a boy who wants to jump. But Bramble likes Maggie, who arrives with boots, a helmet, and a book about horses. She and her family are picky, too, but give Bramble a home. At first, the horse is frightened of the unfamiliar bushes, a swing set, and a garden hose until the girl shows her that they are harmless. At night Bramble repeatedly kicks the shed door, and Maggie consults her horse book to develop a solution. This finely crafted story about building trust and friendship is gently infused with information about equine care and filled with expressive, colorful gouache artwork on every page. Offer this title to readers who enjoyed Erica Silverman's Cowgirl Kate and Cocoa (Harcourt, 2005) and Elissa Guest's Iris and Walter, True Friends (Harcourt, 2001) and, as reading skills progress, give them Haas's Runaway Radish (2001) and Jigsaw Pony (2005, both Greenwillow).—Laura Scott, Farmington Community Library, MI - Copyright 2012 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 03/15/2012 When Bramble, normally a good horse for riding lessons, becomes contrary and obstinate, Mrs. Blenkinsop realizes that the mare is bored from too much going around in circles and decides to sell her. Bramble tries out two potential new owners before deciding to cooperate with Maggie and going home with her family. Luckily, Maggie tries to see everything from a horse’s point of view as she helps Bramble adjust to her new home. A fully illustrated story in four chapters, this transition book could be shelved with either beginning reader books or chapter books. Ranging in size from double-page spreads to small vignettes, the gouache paintings create a distinctive look with pleasant hues, rounded forms, and expressive faces. While enjoying the sometimes amusing insights into Bramble’s thoughts, children will empathize with Maggie’s attempts to make her new pal happy. An engaging horse story for young chapter-book readers and a good read-aloud choice as well. - Copyright 2012 Booklist.

Bulletin for the Center... - 06/01/2012 “Bramble gave riding lessons.” Or at least the veteran lesson horse does until she gets so bored with the endless circles in the arena that she starts to engage in some passive resistance, lying down instead of walking forward or pushing over the jump with her nose instead of leaping over it. Bramble is also picky about possible new owners, but eager young Maggie seems to be the perfect choice. Once Bramble has scoped out her new digs-and convinced Maggie to sleep outside her stall to keep her company at night-she’s clearly going to be happy in her indulgent new home. This easy reader in four chapters doesn’t have quite the snap of Haas’ other horse books (such as Runaway Radish, BCCB 7/01), winding down rather than solidly ending, but it still displays the author’s characteristic and wittily expressed understanding of horses (“Bramble could jump if she wanted to. She did not want to very often”) and the girls who love them. The bulging dot eyes and broad gestures in the gouache illustrations give it a cartoony feel, but there’s plenty of horsey reality in Bramble’s expressive body language, and compositions, both spot art and larger scenes, know to keep the focus firmly on girl and horse. This will suit readers of Bang-Campbell’s Little Rat Rides (BCCB 4/04) looking for a little more barn duty and keep them sated until they’re ready for Radish or Haas’ Beware the Mare (BCCB 7/93). DS - Copyright 2012 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

School Library Journal - 08/01/2014 K-Gr 2—Maggie and her horse, Bramble, are back in another beginning chapter book. With a slightly mischievous, frisky attitude in the cooler fall weather, Bramble takes risks and pretends to be fearful, while Maggie introduces her to the sights and sounds of autumn. Both grow into their partnership and maturity as Bramble overdoes her imitation of anxious jumpiness, thoughtlessly unseats her rider, and finally accepts responsibility and returns home safely. Maggie is back in the saddle again with a final chapter, taking the lead and guiding her horse through a succession of surprises on a dark night of trick-or-treating. Softly colored gouache illustrations illuminate expressions and follow the action from a variety of perspectives and have appropriate visual clues and generous white space for younger readers. Dialogue, Maggie's occasional reflections, and a bit of onomatopoeia allow the narrative text to flow nicely as a trusting relationship develops between horse and rider. A solid addition for general purchase.—Mary Elam, Learning Media Services, Plano ISD, TX - Copyright 2014 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...