Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 First star : a Bear and Mole story
 Author: Hillenbrand, Will


 Publisher:  Holiday House
 Pub Year: 2018

 Classification: Easy
 Physical Description: [32] p., col. ill., 25 x 27 cm

 BTSB No: 445328 ISBN: 9780823437603
 Ages: 4-8 Grades: K-3

 Subjects:
 Stars -- Fiction
 Camping -- Fiction
 Bears -- Fiction
 Moles (Animals) -- Fiction

Price: $20.69

Summary:
While camping, Bear tells Mole the story of how the First Bears created the moon and the stars.

Series:
Bear And Mole Story


Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 1.80
   Points: .5   Quiz: 503506

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (03/01/18)
   School Library Journal (04/01/18)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 04/01/2018 PreS-K—When Mole wants to see the stars, Bear suggests they go camping. Once there, Mole becomes scared of the approaching night. Bear, always encouraging and brave, tells Mole about the First Star, better known as the North Star. Throughout the text, repetitive words are set in caps. In shades of blue, purple, and black, the First Bear family look on in fear as it becomes dark out. Mole and Bear watch from the corner of the pages as First Father Bear, First Mother Bear, and First Little Bear create the moon and the stars. All the facial expressions relax as they are lit by the gentle white light of the sky and Mole's lantern. On a full vertical spread, First Father Bear pushes "HARD, HARD, HARD" to affix the North Star that will never move. At the end, the illustrations are still in dark hues, but the stars, body language of the characters, and dialogue make the story playful and lovely. Parents and caregivers will appreciate the book's message to children afraid of the dark. This is a gentle alternative to mythological creation stories and scientific explanations. VERDICT Another empowering message for fans of Bear and Mole that is perfect for bedtime and small group sharing.—Elissa Cooper, Helen Plum Memorial Library, Lombard, IL - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...