Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Deep water
 Author: Key, Watt

 Publisher:  Farrar Straus Giroux (2018)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 264 p., ill., 21 cm

 BTSB No: 516444 ISBN: 9780374306540
 Ages: 10-14 Grades: 5-9

 Subjects:
 Survival skills -- Fiction
 Scuba diving -- Fiction
 Oil well drilling rigs -- Fiction
 Adventure fiction
 Friendship -- Fiction
 Family problems -- Fiction
 Gulf of Mexico -- Fiction

Price: $20.88

Summary:
When a dive off the coast of Alabama goes horribly wrong, twelve-year-old Julie and one of her father's scuba clients struggle to survive after reaching an abandoned oil rig.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 4.70
   Points: 7.0   Quiz: 194401
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 3-5
   Reading Level: 4.40
   Points: 11.0   Quiz: 73252

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (03/01/18)
   School Library Journal (04/01/18)
   Booklist (03/15/18)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 03/15/2018 When 12-year-old Julie is descending more than 100 feet below the ocean’s surface, all she can think about is how to complete the dive safely—not how miserable her father, owner of a small diving business, has been since her mother left him to move to Atlanta. But when Julie must lead a dive with two reckless clients whose expensive equipment is as untested as they are, she encounters a nightmare more harrowing than any of her problems on land. This scenario closely matches the events of Key’s Terror at Bottle Creek (2016), this time starring a female protagonist. Julie is a tough, smart, and resilient lead, although her narration does not come across as believably 12. Classmate and client Shane is Julie’s forgettable companion for an oceanic ordeal that Key treats with his signature compelling detail and suspense. Readers hungry for an epic tale of grueling odds will also find lessons in bravery, resourcefulness, and practical survival advice. Just try to stop yourself from committing Julie’s shark-repelling strategies to memory. - Copyright 2018 Booklist.

School Library Journal - 04/01/2018 Gr 4–7—A gripping tale of survival in the open water of the Gulf Coast. Twelve-year-old Julie Sims spends her summers helping her father run his dive shop in Alabama. When Julie's father rediscovers a secret artificial reef, he and Julie are excited to take clients out for dives. Their first clients are the wealthy, entitled Mr. Jordan and his spoiled son Shane. When Julie's dad, a diabetic, feels too ill to dive, they decide Julie will supervise the Jordans, breaking the first rule of scuba diving: if it doesn't feel right, don't go down. When the boat's anchor gives way, Julie, Mr. Jordan, and Shane are left stranded. Key's novel is fast-paced and action-packed. The short chapters and escalating events will entice and entertain fans of the survival genre. Others may find the characterization flat and the plot overly simple. Some readers may find the scenario or behavior of adult characters implausible or even ridiculous. Despite these flaws, the book offers interesting facts about scuba diving and the Gulf Coast. VERDICT A simplistic yet action-packed survival story; recommended for fans of Gary Paulson and Eric Walters.—Kaetlyn Phillips, Yorkton, Sask. - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...