Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 When clouds touch us
 Author: Lai, Thanhha

 Publisher:  Harper (2023)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 244 p.,  21 cm

 BTSB No: 537339 ISBN: 9780063047006
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Vietnamese -- United States -- Fiction
 Refugees -- Fiction
 Moving -- Fiction
 Novels in verse
 Family life -- Fiction
 Alabama -- Fiction
 Texas -- Fiction

Price: $23.28

Two years ago, Ha and her family arrived in Alabama as refugees from the Viet Nam War. They've worked hard to make a life for themselves but it hasn't come easy. Just when Ha starts to feel settled, Mother decides they're moving to Texas. But sometimes even an unwanted change brings a good opportunity. Sequel to Inside Out And Back Again.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 5.40
   Points: 2.0   Quiz: 519649

   Kirkus Reviews (03/01/23)
   School Library Journal (00/04/23)
   Booklist (04/01/23)
 The Hornbook (00/05/23)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 04/01/2023 Lai returns to the post–Vietnam War world of Inside Out and Back Again (2011) in this novel in verse, which follows Hà, her mother, and her older brothers during another year of turmoil. Her mother’s choice to move the family from Alabama to Texas—a state whose name they cannot pronounce—for a better job uproots them yet again. Lai captures Hà’s attempts at acclimation while still yearning for what has been lost. How can she move forward when she discovers things she never knew about, like the My Lai massacre? While rooted in the 1970s, this memoiresque novel captures experiences that refugees in many times and places face: the sense of longing, the confusion, and the family dynamics that shift and change. Readers with older siblings, who support their family in little ways, and those who have struggled with being the “only one” in a classroom will slip easily into Lai’s world, though this sequel will come easier to those familiar with Inside Out and Back Again. Ideal for fans of Linda Sue Park, Jasmine Warga, and Andrea Beatriz Arango. - Copyright 2023 Booklist.

View MARC Record