Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 All summer long
 Author: Larson, Hope


 Publisher:  Farrar Straus Giroux
 Pub Year: 2018

 Dewey: 741.5
 Classification: Nonfiction
 Physical Description: 170 p., col. ill., 21 cm

 BTSB No: 543599 ISBN: 9780374304850
 Ages: 10-12 Grades: 5-7

 Subjects:
 Friendshp -- Fiction
 Summer -- Fiction

Price: $23.51

Summary:
Thirteen-year-old Bina and her best friend Austin rise above their growing pains and reestablish their friendship and respect for their differences in a touching and funny read. In graphic novel format.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 2.40
   Points: 1.0   Quiz: 196103

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (+) (03/15/18)
   School Library Journal (05/01/18)
   Booklist (04/15/18)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/05/18)
 The Hornbook (00/07/18)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 04/15/2018 Bina and Austin have been best friends since they were babies, but the summer before eighth grade, things start to get weird. First, Austin’s leaving for a month-long soccer camp; then, he thinks their annual “summer fun index” is dumb; and worst of all, he barely acknowledges her texts while he’s at camp. But Bina finds plenty to occupy herself, and with Austin away, she can focus even more on music. Larson (Compass South, 2016) perfectly captures the anxiety and relief that sometimes accompanies changing childhood friendships—Bina is hurt that Austin isn’t as interested in the things they used to do together, but she seems just as happy to find her own path while he’s gone. With bold, black outlines and a sunny yellow palette, Larson’s figures have wonderfully expressive faces—she’s particularly good at signaling emotion with eyes and shoulders. Readers who love Raina Telgemeier’s Smile (2010) but are still a bit too young for Jillian and Mariko Tamaki’s This One Summer (2014) will find plenty to like here. - Copyright 2018 Booklist.

School Library Journal - 05/01/2018 Gr 5–8—It's a summer of changes for 13-year-old Bina. Her best friend Austin is off to soccer camp, her oldest brother and his husband are adopting a baby, and nobody has time for Bina. An aspiring guitarist, she takes solace in music; it grounds her when she feels adrift. Over the course of long weeks filled with babysitting, mini-golf, concerts, and family, Bina experiences a full range of emotions as feelings are easily hurt, moods are topsy-turvy, and friendships are formed, broken, and reshaped in different ways. This sensitive, relatable graphic novel explores many familiar touchstones of adolescence as Bina seeks her place in the world. Constantly looking up to the older, more accomplished people in her life, Bina finds it hugely satisfying when she realizes that she, too, has something to offer. A limited palette keeps the focus on the story and character development, and Larson's expressive drawings add to the emotional resonance of the teen's journey to self-discovery. VERDICT Fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile and Shannon Hale's Real Friends will eagerly embrace this work. A charming addition to any graphic novel collection.—Allison Tran, Mission Viejo Library, CA - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...