Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Just Jaime (Emmie & friends)
 Author: Libenson, Terri

 Publisher:  HarperCollins (2019)

 Dewey: 741.5
 Classification: Nonfiction
 Physical Description: 247 p., col. ill., 21 cm

 BTSB No: 572425 ISBN: 9780062851079
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Friendship -- Fiction
 Middle schools -- Fiction
 School stories
 Interpersonal relations -- Fiction
 Graphic novels

Price: $18.58

Summary:
On the last day of seventh grade, Maya caves into peer pressure and ditches Jaime for the "popular" girls. Are their days as BFFs numbered? In graphic novel format.

Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 3.60
   Points: 2.0   Quiz: 502391

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (+) (03/01/19)
   School Library Journal (06/01/19)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/04/19)
 The Hornbook (07/01/19)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 06/01/2019 Gr 4–7—On the last day of seventh grade, Jaime and her best friend Maya are determined to talk about why things have grown awkward between them. Fans of Invisible Emmie and Positively Izzy will recognize this chatty pair. Jaime doesn't understand why Maya has been distant, and Maya wishes that Jaime would try harder to fit in with the crowd. Celia, the cool girl who wears makeup and kissed someone at summer camp, persuades Maya to shut Jaime out of their group. Maya is charmed by Celia's attention and goes along with the plan, to everyone's eventual regret. Jaime's side of the story is told in short chapters with doodled spot illustrations. Maya's perspective is rendered in full comics panels. In the end, Jaime stays true to herself—with the support of caring adults as well as old and new friends—and Maya returns, asking for forgiveness. This is a realistic, hopeful look at the "drama soup" of middle school. VERDICT A strong purchase for middle grade graphic novel collections, especially where Emmie and Izzy are circulating well.—Jennifer Costa, Cambridge Public Library, MA - Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...