Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Incredibly dead pets of Rex Dexter
 Author: Reynolds, Aaron

 Publisher:  Disney/Hyperion (2020)

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 213 p., ill., 21 cm

 BTSB No: 748576 ISBN: 9781368051835
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Ghosts -- Fiction
 Zoo animals -- Fiction
 Endangered species -- Fiction
 Blessing and cursing -- Fiction
 School stories
 Mystery fiction

Price: $18.66

Summary:
Cursed by an old carnival game, sixth-grader Rex Dexter uses his new ability to communicate with dead animals to investigate the mysterious deaths of endangered zoo animals.


Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (01/15/20)
   School Library Journal (04/01/20)
   Booklist (02/15/20)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 02/15/2020 As the name of the town suggests, life in Middlington Falls is unremarkable. That is, until Rex Dexter tangles with a wish-granting grim reaper, in the form of a vintage arcade game. Unfortunately, Rex loses the game, and instead of walking away with a real live pet (please be a chocolate Lab!), he is cursed with the ability to see and speak to dead animals—including his rooster “practice pet,” which just got flattened in the parking lot. Narrating with unchecked confidence and sarcasm, Rex comes to understand that the incorporeal zoo animals now appearing in his bedroom—a charred rhino, a drowned gorilla, a squashed elephant, and a zapped panda—need his help to solve the mystery of their untimely deaths. Picture-book author Reynolds brings his knack for off-kilter comedy to his first novel in a gleefully entertaining fashion. While Rex recklessly leads with self-ascribed “charm,” he is balanced by his intelligent, good-natured friend Darvish. The zany animal cast adds to the fun of this series starter, perfect for fans of Stuart Gibbs’ FunJungle mysteries. - Copyright 2020 Booklist.

School Library Journal - 04/01/2020 Gr 3–6—Sixth-grader Rex Dexter desperately wants a dog, but his parents have deemed him too irresponsible. When he loses an old-fashioned Grim Reaper carnival game, he is cursed with the ability to see and communicate with dead animals who passed away with unfinished business. The first one he sees is his own pet chicken, which died moments before in a steamroller accident while Rex wasn't paying attention. Soon after, he starts seeing the ghosts of animals from a local zoo, all of whom died under strange circumstances. Rex must solve the mystery of who is killing off rare animals so that the victims can move on to the afterlife. And if he does, maybe he can convince his parents that he is responsible enough to own a dog, too. Hapless Rex follows in the footsteps of characters like Timmy Failure, who think they are much cleverer than they actually are. His hijinks will amuse those who enjoy slapstick humor just a little on the dark side. The mystery has a twist ending that will surprise and satisfy readers who thought they knew what was coming. VERDICT Purchase where funny books are popular–that's everywhere, right?—Misti Tidman, Mansfield/Richland County Public Library, OH - Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

School Library Journal - 04/01/2020 - Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...