Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Playlist : the rebels and revolutionaries of sound
 Author: Rhodes, James

 Publisher:  Candlewick Press (2019)

 Dewey: 780
 Classification: Collective Biography
 Physical Description: 67 p., col. ill., 29 cm

 BTSB No: 749477 ISBN: 9781536212143
 Ages: 12-16 Grades: 7-11

 Composers -- Biography
 Composition (Music)

Price: $6.50

Introduces today's readers to seven of the greatest composers of all time.

 Illustrator: O'Neill, Martin

   Kirkus Reviews (+) (09/01/19)
   Booklist (+) (10/15/19)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 10/15/2019 *Starred Review* When first approaching any art, nothing enhances the experience like encouragement from a friend in love with the work, and that’s the role played here by concert pianist Rhodes in this vibrant introduction to classical music. His love is palpable, sure to infect anyone who gives classical music (and this book) a chance. Great lengths have gone into presenting the stereotypically unappealing subject through terms that will appeal to modern teens, from the book’s design—including dynamic typography and O’Neill’s lively punk-psychedelic collage work, all set in the dimensions of a record jacket—to Rhodes’ conversational text that often utilizes pop-culture references to make the material more relatable. Seven of the most notable classical composers are presented—Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Chopin, Schubert, Rachmaninoff, and Ravel. Each section begins with “The Facts of Life,” two pages covering all the pertinent and colorful details of the artist’s life. From there, readers are encouraged to listen along (via a free Spotify playlist) as Rhodes spotlights two of the composer’s works, contextualizing each piece and describing the music in terms both metaphorical and technical. Challenging vocab is set in bold and defined in a glossary, while supplemental sections educate further. More than just a gift book, this provides an easy and entertaining launchpad for music lovers curious about classical but unsure where to start. - Copyright 2019 Booklist.

View MARC Record