Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Sword of summer
 Author: Riordan, Rick


 Publisher:  Disney/Hyperion
 Pub Year: 2015

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 497 p.,  21 cm.

 BTSB No: 754971 ISBN: 9781423160915
 Ages: 10-14 Grades: 5-9

 Subjects:
 Norse mythology -- Fiction

Price: $21.91

Summary:
Magnus Chase, a homeless boy living in Boston, finds out he is the son of a Norse god.

Series:
Magnus Chase And The Gods Of Asgard, I


Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 4.80
   Points: 18.0   Quiz: 177142
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 6-8
   Reading Level: 4.50
   Points: 27.0   Quiz: 67208

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (09/15/15)
   School Library Journal (12/01/15)
   Booklist (10/01/15)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/01/16)
 The Hornbook (00/01/16)

Full Text Reviews:

Booklist - 10/01/2015 Magnus Chase is dead. Literally. To be honest, it’s kind of an improvement; he’s been living on the streets since his mother was brutally killed, and now, after a brief confrontation with one seriously creepy dude, 16-year-old Magnus finds himself deceased, spirited away by a Valkyrie to Valhalla with a host of people who have died heroic deaths. But even though his father was apparently a Norse god, Magnus still may not really belong. Worse, the apocalypse, Viking-style, is looming, and Magnus must find a mysterious, magical sword. Though leaving Valhalla could spell trouble, he escapes into the Nine Worlds with a handful of weird friends to find that sword before the bad guys do. But trickster-god Loki is pulling strings, and it may not be clear who the bad guys really are. Riordan has once again created a reluctant hero who finds himself out of his depth. He stays fairly close to the spirit of the original myths, twisting them for extra comedic effect—Avengers fans may hardly recognize this blustery, red-headed, TV-binge-watching Thor. There's appeal for new readers, but Percy Jackson fans will also undoubtedly snap this up, and there’s even some overlap: Magnus’ cousin is Annabeth Chase. Buy extra copies, and prepare for the siege. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Norse myths are in right now, and Riordan has the magic touch, a combination that makes the extensive marketing campaign seem almost redundant. - Copyright 2015 Booklist.

School Library Journal - 12/01/2015 Gr 5 Up—Fans of Percy Jackson and "Kane Chronicles" (both, Disney-Hyperion) books will not be disappointed in Riordan's newest series, which is based on Norse mythology. Magnus Chase, 16, has been an orphan living on the streets of Boston for the past two years. Ever since the mysterious death of his mother, he has tried to stay ahead of anyone who might be looking for him. When his Uncle Randolph tracks him down and begins talking about his birthright—an ancient sword—Magnus's world changes forever. But Randolph is not the only one searching for the sword. A Fire Giant destined to wield it as part of doomsday is hot on their trail. Dying and winding up at the Hotel Valhalla is only the beginning of this teen's (after)life. With an epic plot, engaging (and diverse) characters, and tons of wisecracking humor, Riordan's latest is a page-turner. Those new to the author's past series can jump right in; fans of his previous works will be happy to see clever nods and references to the other in-universe books. VERDICT Ravenous Riordan fans are likely to begin lining up for this on the publication date; be prepared for long holds lists on this one.—Patrick Tierney, Dr. Martin Luther King Elementary School, Providence, RI - Copyright 2015 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

View MARC Record
Loading...