Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Quinny & Hopper
 Author: Schanen, Adriana Brad

 Illustrator: Swearingen, Greg

 Publisher:  Disney/Hyperion Books
 Pub Year: 2014

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 230 p., ill., 20 cm.

 BTSB No: 782301 ISBN: 9781423178293
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Best friends -- Fiction
 Friendships -- Fiction
 Individuality -- Fiction
 Peer pressure -- Fiction
 School stories
 Neighbors -- Fiction
 Humorous fiction

Price: $6.50

Summary:
[Quinny & Hopper 1] Two polar-opposite eight year olds who become summer best friends find their friendship threatened by the uncertainties of a new school year.

Series:
Quinny & Hopper, 1


Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: LG
   Reading Level: 4.00
   Points: 4.0   Quiz: 167845
Reading Counts Information:
   Interest Level: 3-5
   Reading Level: 3.80
   Points: 8.0   Quiz: 65159

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (05/15/14)
   School Library Journal (00/05/14)
   Booklist (07/01/14)
 The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (00/09/14)
 The Hornbook (-) (00/07/14)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 05/01/2014 Gr 3–5—Eight-year-old Quinny reluctantly moves from New York City to the "middle of nowhere," also known as Whisper Valley. On arrival, she decides that the new town and anything involving the new house are no fun. Longing for a new friend, she introduces herself to Hopper, the boy next store who "appears to be her size." Hopper is a little leery about having a girl for a friend, yet he is enamored with Quinny's big smile and "cheeks with holes." When they get together, high jinks ensue. This likable twosome have endless adventures, such as trying to catch Freya, the chicken; climbing trees; and juggling. It isn't until mean Victoria comes around spouting her rules for third grade that Quinny questions her friendship with Hopper. According to Victoria, boys play with boys and girls play with girls. Meanwhile, Hopper is dreading the prospect of returning to school for another friendless year. Little do the two know that school holds surprises for both of them. This is a delightful, amusing chapter book with lively, relatable characters. Black-and-white drawings add to the overall mood of the story. Fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine and Judy Blume's Super Fudge will flock to this entertaining chapter book.—Megan McGinnis, Sachem Public Library, Holbrook, NY - Copyright 2014 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 07/01/2014 Uprooted from her apartment in New York City, spirited Quinny and her two annoying little sisters land in the country. Quinny is not happy. The list of things she misses about the bustling city is very, very, extra-very long and includes tae kwon do and accordion lessons. Things look up when she spies a couple of exciting new things: a black-and-white striped chicken and a quiet boy next door named Hopper. Hopper is nothing like Quinny. He prefers low-key activities, like art, that no one in his family except his grandfather understands. Their friendship has a rough start, thanks to bullying older brothers, Quinny’s martial-arts training, and a broken vase. Soon though, they are fast friends, scheming to reunite the chicken with its former owner. But they hit another rough spell when school starts and Quinny becomes friends with a mean girl. Quinny and Hopper narrate alternating chapters, each with a strong voice, spot-on language and emotions, and charming black-and-white spot illustrations. Funny, honest, and fast paced, this book about friendship should have wide appeal. - Copyright 2014 Booklist.

Bulletin for the Center... - 09/01/2014 Almost-third-grader Hopper is the kind of quiet kid who would prefer to stay in his room and build a model of a human foot than socialize. When bouncy-haired, mile-a-minute talker Quinny moves in next door and decides to befriend Hopper, however, he is basically powerless against her designs, and the two enjoy spending the summer together. When back-to-school time rolls around, Hopper abruptly ends the friendship, sure Quinny won’t want to spend time with him when she finds out what a loser he is at school. A bewildered Quinny reluctantly takes up with mean girl Victoria until a series of events lead her and Hopper to reestablish their friendship, this time stronger than ever. Quinny and Hopper take turns narrating their story, and although the maturity of their narration doesn’t quite match their young ages, the strength of their individual identities and their likability as characters override their occasional precocity. Hopper’s thoughtful and observant voice (about Victoria: “She acts like it costs her money to be nice to people, and she doesn’t think I’m worth it”) and Quinny’s lively and amusing one (“‘Didded is not a word,’ I inform my grimy little sister. ‘And put a shirt on, you chimpanzee’”), combined with the quick-paced plotting, make this an engaging page-turner. Judy Moody fans will have a ball with Quinny and Hopper, and elementary teachers or librarians looking for a spirited readaloud selection will want to pick up a copy as well. JH - Copyright 2014 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

View MARC Record
Loading...