Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
 Look at the weather
 Author: Teckentrup, Britta

 Publisher:  Owlkids (2018)

 Dewey: 551.5
 Classification: Nonfiction
 Physical Description: 150 p., col. ill., 28 cm

 BTSB No: 874358 ISBN: 9781771472869
 Ages: 7-9 Grades: 2-4

 Subjects:
 Weather
 Environmentalism

Price: $22.84

Summary:
A meditative, immersive take on the weather around us, encouraging the reader to observe and inquire about the outdoors. This book explores different weather phenomena, from rainbows and sunsets to clouds, frost, and rainstorms.




Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 03/01/2018 Gr 1–5—Fans of Tree and Bee will recognize Teckentrup's bold and vibrant art style as she now introduces the topic of weather to readers. Although not as playful as her other books, this title explores the different elements of weather phenomena in four chapters: "Sun," "Rain," "Ice and Snow," and "Extreme Weather." In short lyrical prose, Teckentrup captures ephemeral sights: "Look at the clouds. Some look whispery and barely there. Others are puffy, like giant fleecy cotton balls." Her full-page and sometimes spread-size landscape illustrations evocatively convey the incredible variations and sheer power of weather. These range from the sometimes beautiful to the sometimes destructive. This illustrated nonfiction book captures the richness of our natural environment and invites young readers to observe and wonder about the world around them. ("Can you see the halo around the moon" What does it mean? Is it a sign of wet weather?") VERDICT This would work wonderfully as an introduction in a weather unit, as well as a lovely nature-themed read-aloud. Recommended.—Carole Phillips, Greenacres Elementary School, Scarsdale, NY - Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 03/01/2018 Teckentrup offers readers a lyrical introduction to weather, focusing on the sun, rain, ice and snow, and extreme weather events. Using conversational language that includes questions addressed to the reader, she touches on many details for each topic. “Extreme Weather,” for example, notes climate change and explains thunderstorms, tropical storms, hail, floods, hurricanes, typhoons, tornadoes, blizzards, drought, and fire. Each spread contains brief text and a large, frameworthy painting, often rendered in the style of the impressionists. She makes use of a wide color palette (depending on the mood conveyed), with humans, animals, and architecture taking a backseat to atmospheric conditions. Sometimes the text draws attention to a detail in the illustrations, which will assist adults in leading discussions and young readers in focusing on particular elements of the art. Additionally, flocks of birds appear in each chapter, unifying the presentation. Appended with a glossary and author’s note, this is smoothly translated and makes a perfect introduction for readers just beginning to notice the world around them. - Copyright 2018 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...