Bound To Stay Bound

View MARC Record
To save an image, right click the thumbnail and choose "Save target as..." or "Save link as..."
 Stick Dog dreams of ice cream
 Author: Watson, Tom

 Illustrator: Long, Ethan

 Publisher:  Harper
 Pub Year: 2015

 Classification: Fiction
 Physical Description: 217 p., ill., 21 cm.

 BTSB No: 923478 ISBN: 9780062278074
 Ages: 8-12 Grades: 3-7

 Subjects:
 Dogs -- Fiction
 Ice cream, ices, etc. -- Fiction
 Friendship -- Fiction
 Humorous fiction

Price: $17.21

Summary:
[Stick Dog 4] Stick Dog and his feral friends are looking for relief on a very hot day--and this time they have their eyes on an ice cream truck.

Series:
Stick Dog, 4


Accelerated Reader Information:
   Interest Level: MG
   Reading Level: 4.60
   Points: 2.0   Quiz: 176002

Reviews:
   Kirkus Reviews (-) (02/01/15)
   School Library Journal (02/01/15)
   Booklist (04/01/15)

Full Text Reviews:

School Library Journal - 02/01/2015 Gr 3–6—Stick Dog, Karen, Poo-Poo, Mutt, and Stripes kick off this story in the woods, where they are trying to beat the heat by sticking to the shade. It soon becomes evident to Stick Dog, the most intelligent of the crowd, that he and his pals are in need of a stronger solution, lest they all melt. They soon spot an ice-cream truck and devise a plan to cool off. The stick illustrations throughout are good, goofy fun and will attract readers who can't get enough cartoon-style illustrations amid a middle grade romp. Stick Dog is a slightly condescending narrator, though readers will likely overlook this in favor of the other dogs' humorous quirks. Familiarity with the previous books isn't necessary, but expect readers who pick it up to look for the rest of the series. VERDICT A solid purchase for reluctant readers or for libraries looking to build up a section of titles in the "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" vein.—Ashley Prior, Lincoln Public Library, RI - Copyright 2015 Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and/or School Library Journal used with permission.

Booklist - 04/01/2015 Stick Dog and his stray canine companions—Karen, Mutt, Poo Poo, and Stripe—return for another adventure, this time attempting to beat the summer heat. They start off on a quest for drinking water but are soon redirected when they notice an ice cream truck and the tasty drips it leaves behind. The heist, masterminded by the ever-diplomatic leader Stick Dog, is executed with precision despite his clueless comrades. As in the earlier books, the humor derives from the dogs’ naïveté, narrator asides, and comical artwork. Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid series or Lincoln Peirce’s Big Nate series. - Copyright 2015 Booklist.

View MARC Record
Loading...