The Robert F. Sibert Award

The Robert F. Sibert Award recognizes the author of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year. Information books are those written and illustrated to present factual material for children. Poetry and traditional literature are not eligible. This honor is awarded annually and announced at the ALA awards press conference. The first Robert F. Sibert Award was presented at Mid-Winter ALA 2001.

Who was Robert F. Sibert?

Robert F. Sibert was a longtime President of Bound To Stay Bound Books, Inc. in Jacksonville Illinois. He established standards for book binding through the American Library Association. Mr. Sibert was a strong supporter of the library profession and library education.

Why informational books?
Informational books are absolutely essential for school and public libraries as they help young people explore the world around them. It is only fitting that there be an award that encourages excellence in these types of books.

BTSB Books / ALSC Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to Emily Zorea, Lisa Gonzalez, Chelsea Tarwater, and Stephanie Luyt, the four winners of the Bound To Stay Bound Books / ALSC Scholarships for 2018.

What are our past winners doing now?

Corinne Hatcher is an elementary school librarian in Evanston, Illinois.

Alice Hinterman is the school library media specialist at Cornerstone Elementary School in Dexter, Michigan, in the school library she was able to design and select a collection for when the school opened in 1995.

Melissa Kerrigan is the Children’s Librarian at the Glenwood-Lynwood Public Library, Illinois.

Michelle Glatt is a junior high school librarian in Normal, Illinois.

Helen Moore is Head of Youth Services at Richmond Public Library, British Columbia.

Megan McDonald has become a well-known children’s book author.

Susan Veltfort has retired from her position as Children’s Material Coordinator for the King County Library System, Washington.

Shannon Van Hemert is head of the Children’s Department at Columbine Public Library in Colorado.

Kathleen McDowell is a faculty member of the Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois and is also on the board of trustees at Urbana Free Library.

Jessica Ammons is a School Library Media Coordinator at Olds Elementary School in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Megan Bannen is a Youth Services Librarian at Johnson County Library in Overland Park, Kansas.

Evan Michael Bush is Assistant Director of Children’s Services at Piedmont Regional Library System in Jefferson, Georgia.

Omar Ramirez is a Youth Services Assistant at Elmwood Park Library in Elmwood Park, Illinois.

Kristin Edstrom is Children’s Librarian at the University branch of the Seattle Public Library in Seattle, Washington.

Tamara Boggus is a Media Specialist at Harmony Elementary School in Jasper, Georgia.

Jeanette M. Hammons is a Library Director at Elko-Lander-Eureka County Library System in Elko, Nevada.

Caitlin Augusta is a Youth Services Librarian at Stratford Library in Stratford, Connecticut.

Callen Taylor is a Teacher Librarian at Visitacion Valley Middle School in San Francisco, California.

Melissa Depper is a supervisor for early literacy specialists at Arapahoe Library District in Englewood, Colorado.

Janice Wall is a Library Consultant for the Idaho Commission for Libraries in Boise, Idaho.

Jessica Breslin is Branch Manager at the Cuyahoga County Public Library in Parma, Ohio.

Casey Fox is Library Fund Development Officer at Knox County Public Library in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Esther Mortensen is Teen Librarian at Ashland Branch Library in Ashland, Oregon.

N. Colleen Graves is Library Media Specialist at Lamar Middle School in Flower Mound, Texas.

Are you on this list? Let us know what you are doing.

For information on the BTSB Books / ALSC Scholarships, contact the Association for Library Services to Children, American Library Association, 50 East Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60611.

Year Winner Hometown
2018 Emily Zorea Richland Center, Wisconsin
2018 Lisa Gonzalez Santa Barbara, California
2018 Chelsea Tarwater Sevierville, Tennessee
2018 Stephanie Luyt Traverse City, Michigan
2017 Melissa Sue Wise Austin, Texas
2017 Vincent Thomas Hyland Brooklyn, New York
2017 Megan Ashley Hoak The Dalles, Oregon
2017 Keshia Latrice-Carol Nash-Johnson Santa Monica, California
2016 Luz Maria Flores Silver Spring, Maryland
2016 Marissa Guidara Reading, Pennsylvania
2016 Heather Renee Harden Greenville, North Carolina
2016 Amanda Nicole Neace Crittenden, Kentucky
2015 Blanca Rosales Ginsberg La Mesa, California
2015 Jennifer Matsu Provo, Utah
2015 Lauren Gray Monticello, Illinois
2015 Marta Denise Brandes-Meisner La Mesa, California.
2014 Sylvia Aguinaga Los Angeles, CA
2014 Omar Ramirez Chicago, IL
2014 Callen Nicole Taylor San Francisco, CA
2014 Elissa Sperling Dover, MA
2013 Ashley Dean Poquoson, VA
2013 Marianne Dolce Beltona, FL
2013 Rebecca Lynn Dunn Lawrence, KS
2013 Casey Marie Fox Knoxville, TN
2012 Michelle Ahern Bethpage, NY
2012 Rebecca Baker Frankfort, KY
2012 Micaela Sanchez Greeley, CO
2012 Lisa Jordan Longmont, CO
2011 Nancy Graves Denton, TX
2011 Danielle Gregori Elmont, NY
2011 Rachel Ortiz Washington D.C.
2011 Robyn Woods Saint Cloud, FL
2010 Leah Biado Portland, OR
2010 Marsha Burrola Tucsan, AZ
2010 Alejandro Picazo Chula Vista, CA
2010 Susan Dominguez Albuquerque, NM
2009 Jessica Ammons Nicholasville, KY
2009 Megan Bannen Overland Park, KS
2009 Kristin Edstrom Seattle, WA
2009 Jennifer Raymond Kennebunkport, ME
2008 Evan Bush Athens, GA
2008 Emily Hersh Austin, TX
2008 Christina Larrechea Visalia, CA
2008 Wendy Lee Downey, CA
2007 Jessica Kerlin Lakewood, OH
2007 Laura Knouff Pittsburgh, PA
2007 Esther Mortensen Ashland, OR
2007 Jeanna Rex Jamaica Plain, MA
2006 Kate Elizabeth McGowen Portland, ME
2006 Karen Lynette Nickell Odessa, TX
2006 Kristy Lynn Pac Chicago, IL
2006 Cynthia Sue Young Stroudsburg, PA
2005 Melissa Brumsted Jackson, WY
2005 Donna Colson Southwick, MA
2005 Latonya Pegues Dallas, TX
2005 Danielle Winn Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
2004 Anita Coley Brooklyn, NY
2004 Corinne Hatcher Ann Arbor, MI
2004 Jeanette Moore Elko, NV
2004 Virginia Rassaei El Paso, TX
2003 Libby Jean Fry Marietta, PA
2003 Alison Scudder Kelly Los Angeles, CA
2003 Tessa Elizabeth Michaelson Madison, WI
2003 Diana Ricciardone Southington, CT
2002 Sarah Jane Dutelle Hoffman Estates, IL
2002 Jill Suzanne Heritage Boulder, CO
2002 Melissa Ruth Kerrigan Chicago, IL
2002 Cami Kitzel Naples, NY
2001 Rebecca Ruth Borup S. Jordan, UT
2001 Jennifer Ann Reichert Seattle, WA
2001 Gwendolyn Yarbrough Smith Arab, AL
2000 Christina Anderson Bristol, TN
2000 Portia Johnson Chicago, IL
2000 Karen McCalla Rutland, VT
1999 Barbara Vanderhorst Agana, Guam
1999 Caitlin Augusta Shelton, CT
1998 Pamela Gray Fairbanks, AK
1998 Helen M. Moore Vancouver, BC
1997 Kathleen McDowell Champaign, IL
1997 David R. Black Salt Lake City, UT
1996 Kay Ellen Every Seattle, WA
1996 Debra Ann Snyder Walla Walla, WA
1995 Sarah Willis Idaho Falls, ID
1995 Wendi Birkhead Denton, TX
1994 Roberta Lee Pierce Lindley, NY
1994 Martin Juan Rivera Tucson, AZ
1993 Melissa Depper Denver, CO
1993 Janice Wall Garfield, WA
1992 Shannon VanHemert Pittsburgh, PA
1992 Michelle Glatt Downers Grove, IL
1991 Anna Watkins Knoxville, TN
1991 Chance Hunt Los Angeles, CA
1990 Karen Guma San Francisco, CA
1990 Sara Gilbert Brooklyn, NY
1989 Alice Hinterman Ann Arbor, MI
1989 Tamara Boggus Palm Bay, FL
1988 Susan Veltfort Santa Fe, NM
1988 Birgit Mary Nicolaisen Binghamton, NY
1987 Ruth Ann Currie Nepean, Ont.
1987 Barbara Mendoza Los Angeles, CA
1986 Sadako Kashiwagi San Francisco, CA
1985 Megan McDonald Pittsburgh, PA