The Robert F. Sibert Award
The Robert F. Sibert Award recognizes the author of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year. Information books are those written and illustrated to present factual material for children. Poetry and traditional literature are not eligible. This honor is awarded annually and announced at the ALA awards press conference. The first Robert F. Sibert Award was presented at Mid-Winter ALA 2001.

Who was Robert F. Sibert?
Robert F. Sibert was a longtime President of Bound To Stay Bound Books, Inc. in Jacksonville Illinois. He established standards for book binding through the American Library Association. Mr. Sibert was a strong supporter of the library profession and library education.

Why informational books?
Informational books are absolutely essential for school and public libraries as they help young people explore the world around them. It is only fitting that there be an award that encourages excellence in these types of books.

BTSB Books / ALSC Scholarship Winners
Congratulations to Sylvia Aguinaga, Omar Ramirez, Callen Nicole Taylor and Elissa Sperling, the four winners of the Bound To Stay Bound Books / ALSC Scholarships for 2014.

What are our past winners doing now?

Corinne Hatcher is an elementary school librarian in Evanston, Illinois.

Melissa Kerrigan is the Children's Librarian at the Glenwood-Lynwood Public Library, Illinois.

Michelle Glatt is a junior high school librarian in Normal, Illinois.

Helen Moore is Head of Youth Services at Richmond Public Library, British Columbia.

Megan McDonald has become a well-known children's book author.

Susan Veltfort is Children's Material Coordinator for the King County Library System, Washington.

Shannon Van Hemert is head of the Children's Department at Columbine Public Library in Colorado.

Kathleen McDowell is a faculty member of the Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois and is also on the board of trustees at Urbana Free Library.

Are you on this list? Let us know what you are doing.

For information on the BTSB Books / ALSC Scholarships, contact the Association for Library Services to Children, American Library Association, 50 East Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60611.

Year Winner Hometown
2014 Sylvia Aguinaga Los Angeles, CA
2014 Omar Ramirez Chicago, IL
2014 Callen Nicole Taylor San Francisco, CA
2014 Elissa Sperling Dover, MA
2013 Ashley Dean Poquoson, VA
2013 Marianne Dolce Beltona, FL
2013 Rebecca Lynn Dunn Lawrence, KS
2013 Casey Marie Fox Knoxville, TN
2012 Michelle Ahern Bethpage, NY
2012 Rebecca Baker Frankfort, KY
2012 Micaela Sanchez Greeley, CO
2012 Lisa Jordan Longmont, CO
2011 Nancy Graves Denton, TX
2011 Danielle Gregori Elmont, NY
2011 Rachel Ortiz Washington D.C.
2011 Robyn Woods Saint Cloud, FL
2010 Leah Biado Portland, OR
2010 Marsha Burrola Tucsan, AZ
2010 Alejandro Picazo Chula Vista, CA
2010 Susan Dominguez Albuquerque, NM
2009 Jessica Ammons Nicholasville, KY
2009 Megan Bannen Overland Park, KS
2009 Kristin Edstrom Seattle, WA
2009 Jennifer Raymond Kennebunkport, ME
2008 Evan Bush Athens, GA
2008 Emily Hersh Austin, TX
2008 Christina Larrechea Visalia, CA
2008 Wendy Lee Downey, CA
2007 Jessica Kerlin Lakewood, OH
2007 Laura Knouff Pittsburgh, PA
2007 Esther Mortensen Ashland, OR
2007 Jeanna Rex Jamaica Plain, MA
2006 Kate Elizabeth McGowen Portland, ME
2006 Karen Lynette Nickell Odessa, TX
2006 Kristy Lynn Pac Chicago, IL
2006 Cynthia Sue Young Stroudsburg, PA
2005 Melissa Brumsted Jackson, WY
2005 Donna Colson Southwick, MA
2005 Latonya Pegues Dallas, TX
2005 Danielle Winn Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
2004 Anita Coley Brooklyn, NY
2004 Corinne Hatcher Ann Arbor, MI
2004 Jeanette Moore Elko, NV
2004 Virginia Rassaei El Paso, TX
2003 Libby Jean Fry Marietta, PA
2003 Alison Scudder Kelly Los Angeles, CA
2003 Tessa Elizabeth Michaelson Madison, WI
2003 Diana Ricciardone Southington, CT
2002 Sarah Jane Dutelle Hoffman Estates, IL
2002 Jill Suzanne Heritage Boulder, CO
2002 Melissa Ruth Kerrigan Chicago, IL
2002 Cami Kitzel Naples, NY
2001 Rebecca Ruth Borup S. Jordan, UT
2001 Jennifer Ann Reichert Seattle, WA
2001 Gwendolyn Yarbrough Smith Arab, AL
2000 Christina Anderson Bristol, TN
2000 Portia Johnson Chicago, IL
2000 Karen McCalla Rutland, VT
1999 Barbara Vanderhorst Agana, Guam
1999 Caitlin Augusta Shelton, CT
1998 Pamela Gray Fairbanks, AK
1998 Helen M. Moore Vancouver, BC
1997 Kathleen McDowell Champaign, IL
1997 David R. Black Salt Lake City, UT
1996 Kay Ellen Every Seattle, WA
1996 Debra Ann Snyder Walla Walla, WA
1995 Sarah Willis Idaho Falls, ID
1995 Wendi Birkhead Denton, TX
1994 Roberta Lee Pierce Lindley, NY
1994 Martin Juan Rivera Tucson, AZ
1993 Melissa Depper Denver, CO
1993 Janice Wall Garfield, WA
1992 Shannon VanHemert Pittsburgh, PA
1992 Michelle Glatt Downers Grove, IL
1991 Anna Watkins Knoxville, TN
1991 Chance Hunt Los Angeles, CA
1990 Karen Guma San Francisco, CA
1990 Sara Gilbert Brooklyn, NY
1989 Alice Hinterman Ann Arbor, MI
1989 Tamara Boggus Palm Bay, FL
1988 Susan Veltfort Santa Fe, NM
1988 Birgit Mary Nicolaisen Binghamton, NY
1987 Ruth Ann Currie Nepean, Ont.
1987 Barbara Mendoza Los Angeles, CA
1986 Sadako Kashiwagi San Francisco, CA
1985 Megan McDonald Pittsburgh, PA